LibGuides: ENG 401 • Literature of Early England: Locating eBooks

eBook Collections

Explore eBook Collections

These collections are a great place to start.

ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
English Poetry 600 - 1900 (EBC) This link opens in a new window
Part of the American and English Literature collection, this resource contains the full text of over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900. It also includes full text of over 4400 poetry collections listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature
The database includes the works of writers listed as poets, writers whose main entry appears under another genre but who are cross-referenced to poetry and a few additional writers of poetry not cross-referenced. Works in English of Welsh, Scottish, and Irish poets are included. The full-text and any relevant accompanying text written by the poet. This is a subcollection of OhioLINK EBC.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in several subject areas including biography, business, education, history, literature, medicine, and social sciences.
Collection Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions). Not included in OneSearch.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.

EBSCO eBooks

Need help locating EBSCO eBooks? Watch this tutorial to learn more.

Introducing eBooks

Selected eBooks

Archer Library offers a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Titles are available in eBook collections, the library catalog, and via OneSearch. Read eBooks on your computer or mobile device. When reading an EBSCO eBook, it is possible to create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

English Literature from the Old English Period Through the Renaissance
Call Number: EBSCO eBook •
"eginning in the Old English period and continuing through the Medieval and Renaissance periods, writers such as Geoffrey Chaucer and William Shakespeare began to elevate the place of literature in society. This volume details the evolution of early English literature and the enduring works that have withstood centuries of linguistic and cultural change."
Exploring Guinevere's Search for Authenticity in the Arthurian Romances
Call Number: EBSCO eBook • 2012
"Rich discusses Guinevere as a mythical character who embodies a set of mythical traditions that span several centuries. Often depicted differently her legacy has yet to be fully recognized because she is overshadowed by Arthur. This book seeks to correct that problem and fill in a gap in the scholarship by providing an extensive study of the ways she has been represented from medieval times until today."
King Arthur: Myth-Making and History by N. J. Higham
Call Number: EBSCO eBook • 2002
"This seminal new study explores how and why historians and writers from the Middle Ages to the present day have constructed different accounts of this well-loved figure. N. J Higham offers an in-depth examintaion of the first two Arthurian texts: the History of the Britons and the Welsh Annals.
The Tales of the Clerk and the Wife of Bath
Call Number: EBSCO eBook • 1992
"The first feminist edition of these two tales. Wynne-Davies addresses the social and cultural context of the poems 'production in a critical commentary to the texts. Also includes a line by line gloss and a historical introduction."
Beowulf: Dual Language and New Verse Translation
Call Number: EBSCO eBook • 2019
"The most important Old English poem, and the first known major poem written in a European vernacular, Beowulf is a unique and compelling mix of sixth-century historical events, Christian commentary, Germanic myth and Anglo-Saxon culture. The poem is presented here in a dual-text format with a new translation by multi-award-winning translator J.G. Nichols.'
Bullfinches Mythology: The Age of Fable by Thomas Bulfinch
Call Number: EBSCO eBook • 2012
"From Bulfinch's Mythology, a widely comprehensive look at the myths and beliefs of the ancient Greeks and Romans, looking at the gods and heroes of their legends."