LibGuides: ENG 100 • English Composition [Scott-Roller]: Citation &amp; Reference

MLA Style

MLA Handbook
LB2369.M52 2021
Available in Reference & General Collections

Purdue OWL • MLA Style

Databases: General Reference

Oxford Research Encyclopedias
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines including business and management, climate science, criminology and criminal justice, education, environmental science, international studies, literature, politics, psychology, and religion..

These encyclopedias provide authoritative, objective overviews of significant topics. (Oxford University Press).
Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Of the several hundred reference works on the site more than 60 are accessible based on purchase by OhioLINK. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.

The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. FThis database is updated annually.
World Book Advanced
Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts.
World Book Timelines
Hundreds of customizable, interactive timelines of important events throughout history are pre-built for researchers, or users can create timelines from scratch.
Oxford Very Short Introductions
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.

Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory.

Purdue OWL: Research & Writing Resources

Purdue OWL • Online Writing Lab at Purdue University

"The online writing lab offers global support through online reference materials and services for creating citations, cover letters, major-specific writing help, and general writing advice."

General Writing • Overview
A FAQs page that "address various general issues concerning writing."
General Writing FAQs • Common Writing Assigments
Basic recommendations for students experiencing problems writing essays.
Research Overview: Types of Sources
"This section lists the types of sources most frequently used in academic research and describes the sort of information that each commonly offers"
Citation: URLs vs. DOIs
"This resource explains the difference between URLs and DOIs and briefly describes how to incorporate either form of information into your citations."
Research & Citation Resources
"These OWL resources will help you use the research you have conducted in your documents. This area includes material on quoting and paraphrasing your research sources, as well as material on how to avoid plagiarism."
Best Practices to Avoid Plagiarism
"Since plagiarism has serious consequences, there are many safe practices that you can employ in order to avoid plagiarism."

University of North Carolina • Writing Center

UNC Writing Center • Tips & Tools

Resource topics from the Writing Center at the UNC, Chapel Hill, include writing the paper, citation style, specific writing contexts, and writing for specific fields.

Writing the Paper: Argument
"This handout will define what an argument is and explain why you need one in most of your academic essays."
Writing the Paper: Comparing and Contrasting
Explains " how you can (and why you should) develop a thesis that goes beyond “Thing A and Thing B are similar in many ways but different in others.”
Writing the Paper: Thesis Statements
"This handout describes what a thesis statement is, how thesis statements work in your writing, and how you can craft or refine one for your draft."
Writing the Paper: Writing Anxiety
"This handout discusses the situational nature of writer’s block and other writing anxiety and suggests things you can try to feel more confident and optimistic about yourself as a writer."
Writing Contexts: Annotated Bibliographies
"This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation."
Writing Contexts: Abstracts
"This handout provides definitions and examples of the two main types of abstracts: descriptive and informative."
Citation: Plaigarism
"This handout explains what plagiarism is and outlines steps students can follow to avoid plagiarizing."

Archer Library

ENG 100 • English Composition [Scott-Roller]: Citation & Reference