LibGuides: ENG 100 • English Composition [Scott-Roller]: Books & eBook Collections

Overview • Archer Library Catalog

What is the library catalog? Generally speaking, a library catalog is a bibliographic listing of all items - physical and electronic - found in a library collection.

Ashland University students have access to Archer Library catalog and the OhioLINK Library catalog.

Archer Library catalog contains information to help users locate resources, such as books, eBooks, music, journals, in Archer Library's collections.
The OhioLINK catalog is a shared resource that contains the holdings (collections) of all 117 OhioLINK libraries. Students are able to request items from the OL catalog that are not available in Archer Library's catalog.

Archer Library Catalog

Start your search with Archer Library catalog:

Select Titles • In the Collection

English language, rhetoric, and critical thinking.

They Say / I Say
Call Number: PE1431 .G73 2018b
About: " "The Fourth Edition includes 40 readings (22 of which are NEW) that represent a multitude of perspectives organized around 5 conversations."
The Well-Crafted Argument
Call Number: PE1431 .W48 2005
ISBN: 0618438114
About: "The Well-Crafted Argument uses a practical, accessible, skills-based approach to teaching argument while encouraging students to develop their individual voices and visions."
The Presence of Others
Call Number: PE1417 .P476 2004
Summary: "Presenting widely varying opinions on provocative topics, The Presence of Others invites every student to enter a dialogue with the readings and with accompanying commentaries from the editors, student writers, and experts in other disciplines and fields."

eBook Collections

Overview • eBook Collections

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Locate eBooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch. Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device. When reading an EBSCO eBook, it is possible to create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in several subject areas including biography, business, education, history, literature, medicine, and social sciences.
Collection Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions). Not included in OneSearch.

Archer Library

ENG 100 • English Composition [Scott-Roller]: Books & eBook Collections