Moving references from our databases (or GoogleScholar) is either a one step or a multiple step process.  At all times start from your search within the actual database interface. 

• Save or mark any items you want to bring to EndNote. 
• Look for an export link to EndNote Web.  If there is one, use it and you will have all your saved items uploaded.
• If there is not an option to export to EndNote Web you will likely have to save the file as a text or RefMan to your computer and upload using the "collect and import" links within EndNote Web.  See the Download and Import box to the right. 
• All databases are slighly different in terms of the procedure you will need to use. 
• You can also create the item manually within EndNote Web.  Slightly labor intensive, but if there are only one or two citations it does not take long.

Databases that currently allow direct export to EndNote Web:

• ISI Web of Science
• Ebsco databases (such as CINAHL, MedLine, Academic Search Premier)
• GoogleScholar - use OhioLINK import configuration in GoogleScholar Preferences

Search the database and look for a link to save or export the information.  You may have to "mark" the item.

The export should specify EndNote Web or RefMan.  If it only lists EndNote, it will not work. This refers to the software client.

When a database does not provide EndNote Web direct export you will usually need to download the file to your computer and import the file to EndNote Web.  This is the procedure.  It is not difficult but it involves an extra step and you will need to specify the database and vendor when you are ready to import to EndNote. 

Steps using ProQuest:

1. Run your search in the database
2. Select the Export/Save icon for the references you want to move to EndNote Web.
3. Set Output to RIS
4. Save your reference as a text file (or RIS) to your computer.
5. Log in to EndNote Web
6. Go to the Collect Tab
7. Select Import References

It seems complicated but it's not.  If you can't find the same database you can often pick a database from the same company, the filter should be the same.