Thomson Reuters, the provider of EndNote, has a YouTube channel with video tutorials to guide you through the various features of EndNote. It allows you to focus on just the part you need.

Don't get discouraged if it takes a little while to get comfortable using EndNote. With a little practice it isn't difficult, and there are many resources available for help and information.

• EndNote's built-in help system: just press F1
• EndNote manual in PDF format: in Windows XP, click Start Menu / All Programs / EndNote / EndNote Manual
• Web of Science  EndNote support page
• Web of Science EndNote Tutorials

Downloading Updates: Connection Files, Import Filters, Output Styles

A common way to correct a problem with importing or outputting citations is simply to update the connection file, filter or output style. These can be downloaded from ISI's EndNote support page.

EndNote provides great training tutorials and other training tools.

• EndNote X7 Online User's Guide (PDF)

• EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web

• Free Online Tutorials & Webinars

• EndNote Training on YouTube

• EndNote User Forum  pose questions and read answers to other users' questions.

• EndNote Technical Support

• EndNote Basic (free limited version)

• Download a Free Trial

• Follow EndNote on Twitter

EndNote is a proprietary bibliographic citation management software developed byThomson Reuters. Each EndNote license includes access to EndNote Online. EndNote is frequently used by science scholars and is compatible with both Windows and Mac machines. 

A discounted license for an individual user is available to AU students and faculty through On the Hub.  The download may be used on up to 3 computers, but is limited to one individual user. Since EndNote is a desktop application, it is accessible offline, when you're not connected to the Internet. Using EndNote Online, you can access your saved citations and references online.

Using EndNote, you can:

• organize and track your sources and references
• offers the ability to extract metadata from PDFs as well as search PDFs.
• create a searchable database of references
• archive full text
• easily cite references in your paper, dissertation, article, etc.

This video provides a quick glimpse of  EndNote features.

Collect, organize and manage your bibliographic citations.  There are two versions of EndNote:

• EndNote Online - free 
• EndNote - software client available for AU DNP students

What is the difference between the two versions or what do you get for your money?

EndNote is an application that runs on your computer. EndNote Online is web-based. They do many of the same things (save citations, create bibliographies automatically in Microsoft Word, etc) but have some differences. 

The client is faster because it resides on your computer.  You can also save pdf documents and images to the individual records.

Some features:

• Store up to 10,000 references in your own online library.
• Collaborate: share references with other EndNote Web users.
• Transfer references from your desktop to EndNote Web.
• Insert references and format papers instantly using Cite While You Write.

Check out the Comparison of Features for information on the differences.

This guide will focus on use of the Web based version.  Most of the functionality is identical between these tools.

This video provides a brief tour of all the things EndNote can do for you.

Some of this information was adapted from guides created by  Kristin Buxton, CalTech and Marie Sciangula, Metropolitan Libraries New York Council. (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License). Videos are from ThomsonReuters/EndNote YouTube channel.