Skip to main content

EDFN 507 Quantitative Research: Journals & Databases

Use this guide as a starting point for your research

Find Articles in Databases

Databases are the best way to find quality articles.

  • When you search for a topic in a database, the resulting list of article citations will show if each article is available full-text in either HTML or PDF format. 
  • Don't forget to click on   .  It shows if the journal is available in the AU library, may provide a link to full text of the article in a different database, and will provide assistance in reformatting the citation APA or MLA style.
  •  The EBSCO brand databases allow you to limit your results to peer -reviewed publications. 

 

Education Databases

See Finding Books tab for tips on constructing an efficient search.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Databases from Related Disciplines

Keywords used in Quantitative Articles

These key words are usually found in the abstracts of quantitative scholarly journal articles.  An example of a search would be:

quantitative OR analytic

AND

motivation AND reading

  • empirical
  • research
  • method
  • instrument
  • reliability
  • validity
  • research design
  • critical theory
  • evaluation
  • observation
  • comparison
  • practices
  • questionnaire
  • controlled study
  • case study
  • longitudinal study
  • cross-sectional study
  • experimental research
  • quantitative
  • sampling
  • measurement
  • protocol
  • results
  • double-blind
  • analytic
  • cohort
  • chiI-squared test
  • pre-tests & post-tests
  • correlation
  • statistics

Journal Article Lookup

Use Journal Finder when you have a complete article citation (title, author, journal and dates) and would like to find out how to access it.