• New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
• Billy Rose Theatre Collection
• Theatre on Film and Tape
  Watch recordings of live theatre performances.
• NYPL Digital Library Collection: Performing Arts in America 1875-1923
• Jerome Robbins Dance Division
• Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
  Part of the New York Public Library--is an excellent resource for African American arts in general, and includes some items (playbills, programs, etc.) relevant to performing arts and theatre.
• NYPL Motion Picture Division Film Script Index 1927-1965
  "The New York State Archives preserves the largest collection of film scripts in the world." Search their holdings, then print out and mail in your request form - give yourself enough time, as these resources are NOT available online, and also are NOT free. Archives staff will locate the file, determine cost for photocopying filmscript(s), and mail out the invoice for cost of photocopies. All customers must pay in advance.

Digital Public Library of America

East London Theatre Archive

Europeana

Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web

Library of Congress: American Memory

LIFT Living Archive

Lortel Archives: Off-Broadway Database

Online Archive of California

Performing Arts Encyclopedia

The European Library

Radio Free Pocha Featuring Guillermo-Gomez Pena

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Music, Dance, Recorded Sound, and Theatre

New York Public Library: The Billy Rose Theatre Collection

The Billy Rose Theatre Collection of The New York Public Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive archives devoted to the theatrical arts.

Ballet Russe Scenery Collection Of the Butler Ballet

The Butler Ballet in Indianapolis, IN, owns a very valuable collection of scenery and costumes coming from the famed Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo.

California Heritage Collection

The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are

Library of Congress Performing Arts Reading Room

The Performing Arts Reading Room is the service point for the broad and diverse collections of the Music Division at the Library of Congress. Includes approximately 12 million items and spanning more than 800 years of Western music history and practice.

SIBMAS - International Association of Libraries and Museums of the Performing Arts

Lists over 7000 international institutions with material relating to the performing arts (theatre, opera, music, ballet, film, circus, radio, television, cabaret, pantomime.

Theatre Historical Society of America

THSA preserves the architectural, cultural and social history of America's theatres. Through its collections and publications, THSA makes available information on more than 15,000 theatres in the form of photographs, slides, negatives, books, blueprints, clippings, videos, printed programs, and other material on historic theatres, primarily in the U.S.

Museum of the City of New York: Theater Collection

The Theater Collection traces the relationship between New York City and theater from the late 18th century to the present day. The archive includes set and costume drawings, posters, original playscripts, thousands of costumes and props, photographs, and a major Yiddish theater collection.

Museum of the City of New York: Costumes and Textiles Collection

This collections preserves over 25,000 garments and accessories dating from the mid-18th century to the present, including gloves, fans, stockings, shoes and boots, parasols, collars, ties, hats and headresses, and purses as well as costume jewelry. Other primary source materials directly related to the history of fashion trends and the fashion industry in New York City include photographs, clippings from periodicals, vintage store catalogues and bound fashion publications.

Musée de la Mode de la Ville de Paris (Musée Galliera)

• Global Performing Arts Database
• Internet Broadway Database
• Joseph Urban Stage Design Models
  A Columbia University Special Digital Collection
• The Speech Accent Archive
  by George Mason University
• British Accents and Dialects
• 500 Years of Italian Dance: Treasures from the Cia Fornaroli Collection
• An American Ballroom Companion
• Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920
• Claire Holt Collection of Indonesian Dance and Related Arts
  Thousands of photographs of Indonesian costumes, theatrical performances, and dance movements taken by scholar Claire Holt and others, collected by her in travels through the region in the 1930s and later.
• Dance in Photographs and Prints
  Scores of dance photographs feature specific dancers, and range from publicity stills to professional photographers' vintage prints.
• Dramatispersonae Archive
  European dance, theater, and visual arts from 1600 to 1850
• NYPL Digital Gallery
  NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
• The Dancing Master 1651-1728
  An Illustrated Compendium by Robert M. Keller
• American Ballet Theatre's Online Ballet Dictionary
  Demonstrations of ballet steps in QuickTime and definitions of ballet terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet.
• Performing Arts in America 1875 -1923
  A searchable database of 16,000 objects of photography, recorded sound, and film documenting American performing arts.
• NYPL: Billy Rose Theatre Collection
  Over 55,000 digital images of pamphlets, clippings, costume designs, and photographs of performances and actors.

• The (re)making project
  Playwright Charles L. Mee's plays online
• Eugene O'Neill eText Archive
  Selected O'Neill plays online
• The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
  All of Shakespeare's plays available in full text, online
• Internet Classics Archive
  Contains the full text of many classical plays, including works by Aeschylus and Sophocles
• Doollee--Plays on the Net Links
• Small-Cast One-Art Guide
  This site describes 5522 one-act plays using four or fewer actors. It makes available unpublished and published scripts by worldwide playwrights in multiple languages and various media.

•  Actors Equity Association
• The Actors Fund   
• The Alliance of Los Angeles Playwrights
• American Association of Community Theatre
• American Society for Theatre Research
• Association for Theatre in Higher Education
• Black Theatre Network
• The Broadway League   
• Costume Society of America
• Director's Guild of America
• The Drama League
• Dramatists Guild of America
• International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada
• International Association of Lighting Designers
• International Federation for Theatre Research
• International Museum Theatre Alliance
• International Theatre Institute
• League of Resident Theaters
• Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas
• Ojai Playwrights Conference
• Screen Actors Guild
• Stage Directors and Choreographers Society
• Stage Managers' Association
• Theatre Communications Group
• Theatre Library Association
• United Scenic Artists Local USA 829
• United States Institute for Theatre Technology
• Writers Guild of America, East
• Writers Guild of America, West

• Broadway World
• Internet Broadway Database
• Lortel Archives: Off-Broadway Database
• Playbill
• Playbill Vault
• Playwrights Horizons
• Public Theater

• ARTstor  
   
    
• CAMIO
  LC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world
• Getty Images
  Free downloadable images from the Getty's collections
• Google Art Project  
   
    
• The Bridgeman Art Library Archive  
   
    
• Theatre Productions and Players, 1920s-1957: Vandamm Studio Photographs  
   
    ​
• Furniture: The Victoria and Albert Museum
  Browse period styles and rooms at the Victoria and Albert Museum, London.
• NYPL Digital Gallery
  Searchable database of images, including Civil War photographs, illuminated manuscripts, Japanese prints, early American maps, illustrations relating to the American Revolution, and archival photographs of New York City buildings and streetscapes.

• Domestic Interiors Database
• Glossary of Technical Theater Terms
• Old Abbey Theatre, 1904
• Theatrecrafts

• CalArts Alumni Resources: Jobs
• California Arts Council: Opportunities Arts Jobs
• California Community Colleges Job Search
• California University Jobs
• Chronicle of Higher Education Jobs
• Higher Ed Jobs
• Network Dance: Auditions

• AdAccess (Duke University)
  U.S. and Canadian ads from 1911-1955

• The Character Shop
  A special effects company specializing in animatronics, makeup effects, puppets, and robotics. Site includes glossary of special effects terms.

• Costar Archives (Consolidated Clothing and Costumes Archives)
  Hosted by the Costume Program in the Department of Dramatic Art at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

• The Costume Gallery
  Includes descriptions and images of period costumes. Also includes links to websites that provide goods and services to the fashion and costuming industry.

• The Costumer's Manifesto (Tara Maginnis) 
  Links to many aspects of costuming and types of costume, from ancient Babylon to the 1990's, including ethnic costume. Features text and images. Including Make-Up and Mask Links.

• The History of Costume by Brian & Schneider - c. 1861 - 1880 (C. Otis Sweezey)
  Images of plates of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century, with a Victorian perspective. From the book originally published as "Zur Geschichte der Kostume," printed from 1861 to 1880 in Munich by the publishing firm of Braun and Schneider.

• New York Public Library Digital Gallery
  Many costume images including reproductions from Racinet's Costume Historique also....

• Oriental Costumes Their Designs and Colors
  From Max Tilke's Oriental Costumes, Their Designs and Colors, 
  Berlin : E. Wasmuth, 1922 
  Translated by L. Hamilton

• Style.com

• Inside VIDCAT 
  Archival fashion videos from the 1950's to present
   
• Vimeo

World community video on the open-access web

• Vogue and British Vogue