Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
This tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations and was the first new edition of John Bartlett’s corpus to be published after his death in 1905—the new editor, however, choosing more to supplement than revise the work of the firs
A Dictionary of Writers and their Works
Searchable database of Michael Cox's A dictionary of writers and their works. This resource has a focus on the British canon of literature with some American and Commonwealth writers.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, lists over 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, adverti
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
The best-selling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (formerly the Concise dictionary) provides clear, concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma. Now available in a new, fully updated and expanded
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary is a historical dictionary of the English Language from the Middle Ages to the present. It lists all English words (about one million - over twice as many as any other dictionary) and defines their meanings at specific times in h
Modern Language Association (MLA) is the citation style most commonly used in the field of theatre.