The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, edited by Dennis Kennedy
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000, by Thomas S. Hischak
The Great Stage Directors: 100 Distinguished Careers of the Theater, by Samuel L. Leiter
The Cambridge History of British Theatre, edited by Jane Milling, et al
The A to Z of Japanese Traditional Theatre, by Samuel L. Leiter
Late and Great: American Designers 1960-2010, edited by Bobbi Owen
Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary, edited by Robinson, Roberts, and Barranger
Key Concepts in Drama and Performance, by Kenneth Pickering
The Encyclopedia of Vaudeville, by Anthony Slide
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre, by Bordman and Hischak
The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre, edited by James R. Brandon
A Chronology of American Musical Theater, by Richard C. Norton (3 vols.)
Drama Criticism (40 vols., 1991-current)
Broadway: The American Musical, by Laurence Maslon
The Gay and Lesbian Theatrical Legacy, edited by Harbin, Marra, and Schanke
UNITED STATES
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000
by Thomas S. Hischak.
Oxford University Press, 2001
PN2277 .N5 H57 2000
The Biographical Encyclopaedia and Who's Who of the American Theatre
edited by Walter Rigdon
J. H. Heineman, 1965
PN2285 .R5
Blacks in Blackface: A Source Book on Early Black Musical Shows
by Henry T. Sampso
Scarecrow Press, 1980
ML1711 .S25
The Cambridge History of American Theatre (3 vols.)
edited by Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby
Cambridge University Press, 1998-2000
PN2221 .C37 1998
Dictionary of the Black Theatre : Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Selected Harlem Theatre
by Allen Woll
Greenwood Press, 1983
PN2270 .A35 W64 1983
The Encyclopedia of Vaudeville
by Anthony Slide
Greenwood Press, 1994
PN2277 .N5 H57 2000
Enter the Playmakers: Directors and Choreographers on the New York Stage
by Thomas S. Hischak
Scarecrow Press, 2006
PN1998.2 .H596 2006
The Gay and Lesbian Theatrical Legacy: A Biographical Dictionary of Major Figures in American Stage History in the Pre-Stonewall Era
edited by Billy J. Harbin, Kim Marra, and Robert A. Schanke
University of Michigan Press, 2005
PN2286.5 .G38 2005
Great Stars of the American Stage
by Daniel C. Blum
Greenberg, 1952
PN2285 .B6
Late and Great: American Designers 1960-2010
edited by Bobbi Owen
U.S. Institute for Theatre Technology, 2010
PN2096.A1 L38 2010
Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary
edited by Alice M. Robinson, Vera Mowry Roberts, and Milly S. Barranger
Greenwood Press, 1989
PN2285 .N65 1989
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre (3rd ed.)
by Gerald Bordman and Thomas S. Hischak
Oxford University Press, 2004
PN2220 .B6 2004
BRITAIN
The Cambridge History of British Theatre (3 vols.)
edited by Jane Milling, Peter Thomson, Joseph Donohue, and Baz Kershaw
Cambridge University Press, 2004
PN2581 .C36 2004
A Dictionary of Actors and Other Persons Associated with the Public Representation of Plays in England before 1642
by Edwin Nungezer
Greenwood Press, 1968
PN2597 .N8 1968
The Dramatic List: A Record of the Principal Performances of Living Actors and Actresses of the British Stage...
by Charles Eyre Pascoe
Scholarly Press, 1971 (reprint of 1879 edition)
PN2597 .P3 1971
GENERAL
The Encyclopedia of World Theater
Charles Scribner's Sons, 1977
PN2035 .E52 1977
The Great Stage Directors: 100 Distinguished Careers of the Theater
by Samuel L. Leiter
Facts on File, 1994
PN2205 .L44 1994
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre (3rd ed.)
edited by Phyllis Hartnoll
Oxford University Press, 1967
PN2035 .H3 1967
Theatrical Directors: A Biographical Dictionary
edited by John W. Frick and Stephen M. Vallillo
Greenwood Press, 1994
PN2205 .T54 1994
Who's Who in the Theatre (6 editions)
Pitman; Gale, 1947-1981
PN2012 .W5
The A to Z of German Theater
by William Grange
Scarecrow Press, 2006
PN2657 .G73 2010
The A to Z of Japanese Traditional Theatre
by Samuel L. Leiter
Scarecrow Press, 2010
PN2921 .L45 2010
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000
by Thomas S. Hischak
Oxford University Press, 2001
PN2277.N5 H57 2000
Broadway: Its History, People, and Places: An Encyclopedia
by Ken Bloom
Routledge, 2004
F128.65.T5 B56 2004
The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre
edited by James R. Brandon
Cambridge University Press, 1993
PN2860 .C35 1993
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
edited by Martin Banham
Cambridge University Press, 1995
PN2035 .C27 1995
The Cambridge History of American Theatre (3 vols.)
edited by Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby
Cambridge University Press, 1998-2000
PN2221 .C37 1998
The Cambridge History of British Theatre (3 vols.)
edited by Jane Milling, Peter Thomson, Joseph Donohue, and Baz Kershaw
Cambridge University Press, 2004
PN2581 .C36 2004
Complete Book of the American Musical Theater: A Guide to More Than 300 productions... (Rev. ed.)
by David Ewen
Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1959
ML1711 .E9 1959
The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre (2nd ed., 3 vols.)
by Kurt Gänzl
Schirmer Books, 2001
ML102.M88 G3 2001
The Encyclopedia of World Theater
Charles Scribner's Sons, 1977
PN2035 .E52 1977
Gänzl's Book of the Musical Theatre
by Kurt Ganzl and Andrew Lamb
Schirmer Books, 1989
MT95 .G2 1989
Key Concepts in Drama and Performance
by Kenneth Pickering
Palgrave Macmillan, 2010
PN1579 .P53 2010
Metropolitan Opera Annals: A Chronicle of Artists and Performances (+ 2 suppl.)
compiled by William H. Seltsam
Wilson and Metropolitan Opera Guild, 1947-68
ML1711.8.N32 M48
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre (3rd ed.)
by Gerald Bordman and Thomas S. Hischak
Oxford University Press, 2004
PN2220 .B6 2004
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre (3rd ed.)
edited by Phyllis Hartnoll
Oxford University Press, 1967
PN2035 .H3 1967
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance (2 vols.)
edited by Dennis Kennedy
Oxford University Press, 2003
PN2035 .O94 2003
The Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre
edited by John Russell Brown
Oxford University Press, 1995
PN2111 .O95 1995
The Penguin Dictionary of the Theatre
edited by Jonathan Law, David Pickering, and Richard Helfer
Penguin Books, 2001 (rev. and enlarged ed.)
PN2035 .P46 2001
The Theater Dictionary: British and American Terms in the Drama, Opera, and Ballet
by Wilfred Granville
Greenwood Press, 1970 (reprint of 1952 edition)
PN2035 .G7 1970
Theatre Language: A Dictionary of Terms in English of the Drama and Stage from Medieval to Modern Times
by Walter Parker Bowman and Robert Hamilton Ball
Theatre Arts Books, 1961
PN2035 .B6
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre (2 vols.)
edited by Don Rubin
Routledge, 1994-1996
PN1861 .W67 1994
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia
by Thomas S. Hischak
Greenwood Press, 1995
ML102.M88 H59 1995
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969-2000
by Thomas S. Hischak
Oxford University Press, 2001
PN2277.N5 H57 2000
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (centennial ed., 6 vols.)
Schirmer Books, 2001
ML105 .B16 2001
Broadway: Its History, People, and Places: An Encyclopedia
by Ken Bloom
Routledge, 2004
F128.65.T5 B56 2004
Broadway Musicals, Show by Show (5th ed.)
by Stanley Green
Hal Leonard, 1996
ML1711 .G735 1996
Broadway: The American Musical
by Laurence Maslon
Bulfinch Press, 2004
ML1711.8.N3 M37 2004
A Chronology of American Musical Theater (3 vols.)
by Richard C. Norton
Oxford University Press, 2002
ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002
Complete Book of the American Musical Theater: A Guide to More Than 300 productions... (Rev. ed.)
by David Ewen
Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1959
ML1711 .E9 1959
The Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950 (4 vols.)
by Roger D. Kinkle
Arlington House, 1974
ML102.P66 K55
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (8 vols.)
compiled and edited by Colin Larkin
Muze, 1998
ML102.P66 G84 1998
The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre (2nd ed., 3 vols.)
by Kurt Gänzl
Schirmer Books, 2001
ML102.M88 G3 2001
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre: An Updated Reference Guide to over 2000 Performers, Writers, Directors, Productions, and Songs of the Musical Stage, Both in New York and London
by Stanley Green
Da Capo Press, 1976
ML102.M88 G7 1980
Gänzl's Book of the Musical Theatre
by Kurt Ganzl and Andrew Lamb
Schirmer Books, 1989
MT95 .G2 1989
Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical
by William A. Everett and Paul R. Laird
Scarecrow Press, 2008
ML102.M88 E94 2008
The New Broadway Song Companion: An Annotated Guide to Musical Theatre Literature by Voice Type and Song Style (rev. ed.)
by David P. DeVenney
Scarecrow Press, 2009
ML128.M78 D48 2009
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music (4 vols.)
edited by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie.
Macmillan, 1986
ML101.U6 N48 1986
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed., 29 vols.)
edited by Stanley Sadie
Grove, 2000
ML100 .N48 2000
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical: Theatre, Film, and Television
by Thomas Hischak
Oxford University Press, 2008
ML102.M88 H593 2008
Show Tunes: The Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway's Major Composers (rev. and expanded 3rd ed.)
by Steven Suskin
Oxford University Press, 2000
ML128.M78 S86 2000
Stage It with Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Musical Theatre
by Thomas S. Hischak
Greenwood Press, 1993
ML102.M88 H6 1993
Contemporary Literary Criticism (221 vols.)
Gale, 1973-2006
PN85 .C7
Drama Criticism (40 vols.)
Gale, 1991-current
PN1601 .D59
European Writers (14 vols.)
edited by George Stade
Charles Scribner's Sons, 1983-1991
PN501 .E9 1983
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (177 vols.)
Gale, 1981-2006
PN771 .G27