Skip to main content

History-MA in American History and Government (MAHG): Off-Campus Research

This guide is intended to support students in the MAHG program.

WorldCat Quick Search

There are several ways to locate and borrow books if you live outside Ohio.  Your local public library is a good starting point.  Many college and university libraries allow local residents to borrow books for a minimal fee.  Your State Library may also provide books to state residents.

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. You can search most US libraries using WorldCat.org.  If you enter your zip code, it will display holdings within a designated radius of your location.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Keeping Up

From any EBSCO database, such as America: History and Life  or Academic Search Complete, you can set up a free account to store citations from any EBSCO database.

To set up a free account with EBSCO, click "Sign In" on the top tool bar of any EBSCO database, click "Create a new Account," and follow the easy steps.  

 With an EBSCO account you can:

  • Save your research in folders
  • Share your folders with others or access them from other locations
  • Save and retrieve your search history
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds to let you know when new articles about your topic are published
  • Access your saved citations from other locations or other EBSCO databases.

 

 

Need Help?

Need help finding a particular book, constructing a better search or deciding which database to use?  We'd love to answer your research questions. 

  STOP by the Information Desk for One-on-One help  
  EMAIL a Reference Librarian - library@ashland.edu   
  TEXT a Reference Librarian @ 419-768-6106 
 CALL us @ 419-289-5402  
 CHAT with a Reference Librarian - Questions Sidebar

Off-Campus Log-In

You will be prompted to log-in whenever you click on a database or e-book. If you prefer, you may log-in now.  Once you are logged in, you should be able to move from one resource to another until you close your browser. 

Occasionally we experience difficulty with our log-in server.  In that event, you may want to try to log-in through OhioLINK. The steps are slightly different but you should be able to access databases and many of the e-books.  

AU IT Dept.

To contact the AU Information Techology Dept. with computer, WebAdvisor access, ID number or email issues:

Phone: (419) 289-5405

Send Help Ticket

Google Scholar

This searches across many scholarly Internet sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.  Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations. 

Scholarly articles found on Google, frequently require that you pay a fee to access the full text of the article.  However, because of  your affiliation with AU and OhioLINK, Google Scholar can directly link you to quality resources at no charge. When on campus your Google Scholar search results will immediately indicate if the items are available through OhioLINK.

To show links to free OhioLINK Resources from off-campus, you will need to change Google Preferences on your computer.

  • On the Google Scholar page, click "Scholar Preferences."  (The link is to the right of the search box.)
  • In the "Library Links" box, type in "Ohiolink" and click "Find Library."
  • Put check marks in the boxes that appear:

OhioLINK- Find it with OLinks

Open WorldCat - Library Search

  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Save Preferences."
  • You may now start searching for articles in Google Scholar. If an article is available full-text through one of our subscription databases, you will see a link that says "Full-Text from OhioLINK OLinks"

Google Scholar Search

Google Books

 

While there is no way to restrict search results to downloadable books only, you can limit your results to books that are fully viewable by using the Advanced Search feature of Google Books. Just select the "Full view only" option, enter your search terms and click "Google Search."
Google Book Search