The WWW Virtual Library (VL) is the oldest catalogue of the Web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of HTML and of the Web itself, in 1991 at CERN in Geneva.
The HistoryNet.com is brought to you by the Weider History Group, the world’s largest publisher of history magazines. HistoryNet.com contains daily features, photo galleries and over 5,000 articles originally published in our various magazines.
From University of Tennessee at Knoxville. Includes general resources, secession crisis, images, biographical information, histories, bibliographies, documentary records, battles, reenactments, round tables & more.
The National Museum of the American Indian is a museum in the United States of the culture the indigenous peoples of the Americas. It is part of the Smithsonian Institution group of museums and research centers
Access online collections of the Library of Congress, with millions of items in many formats and languages: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films
In collaboration with PBS’s Liberty! documentary series. Includes a selected bibliography, scholarly essays, maps, images, documents, secondary sources, and colonial American history links.
From Middle Tennessee State University. Provides citations to print and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections.
The companion to the PBS Ancestors in the Americas series about Asian American culture. Includes the Asian American Timeline, links and tools for educators.
A project of the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning of the City University of New York and the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Designed for high school and college teachers and students of U.S. histo
Links to image collections that include photos of sorted by time period or collections subject matter on a array of topics from U.S. Presidents to railroads.
Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.
bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library that tells the story of the American exploration and settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.
From Fordham U. this site provides links to general LGBT history pages, collections of textual material, museums and archives, and lesbian-specific sites, that are difficult to find at most U.S. history sites.
These life histories were compiled and transcribed by the staff of the Folklore Project of the Federal Writers' Project for the U.S. Works Progress (later Work Projects) Administration (WPA) from 1936-1940. The Library of Congress collection includes 2,90
From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration.
History from 1590-present, "high-quality historical resources for teachers and students for free and without advertising." Partners with a variety of museums and archives.digital textbook, interactive timeline of U.S. History, subject guides, handouts, and lesson plans.
designed to help teachers of American history bring their students to a greater understanding of the role religion has played in the development of the United States.
features a digital collection of approximately 2000 objects and transcribed document pages from Memorial Hall Museum and Library. An image of each of these items appears on an Item Page accompanied by interpretive text available on age-appropriate levels.
Library of Congress bilingual site featuring maps, rare books, manuscripts, prints and photographs, and motion pictures relating to Spanish influence and interaction with other cultures existing in the geographic areas of North America, the Caribbean, and present-day Mexico between 1492-1898
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the history and experiences of peoples of African descent.
An Educational Outreach and Research Center of the Smithsonian Institution focused on ensuring that Latino contributions to art, science, and the humanities are highlighted, understood and advanced through the development and support of public programs, scholarly research, museum collections and its affiliated organizations across the United States.
