LibGuides: History-MA in American History and Government (MAHG): Journals, Articles, & Databases

Interlibrary Loan Articles

FREE!

We offer interlibrary loan for articles that are not available through our databases or from our print collection of journals. Interlibrary loan articles will either be sent to you via email or will be mailed to your home. Please allow at least 2 weeks for mail delivery.

Interlibrary Loan - Articles

Other Relevant Databases

Social Sciences Citation This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 2,470 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
Updated weekly. A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Dates covered: 1965-present This database is not included in OneSearch
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and high quality sociology research database.
Includes over 2.1 million records, providing full text for 860+ journals (dating back to 1908), 830+ books/monographs, and 16,800+ conference papers. Abstracts more than 1,300 core journals as well as 3,350+ additional journals. Encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology, including: abortion, criminology and criminal justice violence; demography; ethnic and racial studies; gender studies; marriage and family; substance abuse and other addictions; rural and urban sociology; social development social structure; social work; sociological research and theory; and many others. Also features over 25,000 author profiles per the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database. Dates covered: 1903-present. Included in OneSearch
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of more than 500 full-text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Covers all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure. Dates covered: 1930-present. Included in OneSearch
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Contains 871,000+ records based upon content from over 2,000 different periodicals. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites, web documents, and more. Dates covered: 1960s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch

Find Articles in History Databases

The first step to finding quality articles is to select the most relevant databases for your particular topic.

· The list of article citations will show if each article is available full-text in either HTML or PDF format.

· Don't forget to click on Find It appears when the search system identifies full text in a different database.

· In EBSCO databases you can limit your results to peer-reviewed publications.

America History & Life This link opens in a new window
Self-described as the definitive index of publications covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals, some from as far back as 1910.
Also includes citations for and links to book reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and occurrences. Dates covered: 1950s-present.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877. This Collection was released in five series.
Series 1 presents titles 1693 through 1820, Series 2 presents titles from 1821 through 1837, Series 3 presents titles om 1838 through 1852, Series 4 presents titles from 1853 through 1865, and Series 5 presents titles from 1866 through 1877.
American Periodicals 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window
Contains full content over 1,100 American periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and ladies’ magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals
Digitized reproduction of full pages allows researchers to see all original typography, drawings, graphic elements, article layouts, advertisements, and other matter exactly as originally published. (ProQuest) Dates covered: 1740-1940. Not included in OneSearch.
Bibliography of Indigenous People in North America This link opens in a new window
Contains over 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and gov't. documents of the U.S. and Canada. Boasts a wide range of topics, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Essential for those interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples. Dates covered: 1500s-present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada), focusing on the fifteenth century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Includes world history, military history, women's history, and more. Dates covered: 1950s-present.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Source for quantitative facts of American history; contains statistics from over 1000 sources, with 37,339 separate data series spanning the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences.
Subject areas include history, governance, sociology, demography, natural resources, climate, international migration, and trade. Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables/spreadsheets. Dates covered: 1600s-2000s. Not included in OneSearch.
Newspaper Navigator This link opens in a new window
Database consists of extracted visual content for 16,358,041 historic newspaper pages in Chronicling America; search and explore historic newspaper photographs.
Contains 1.56 million photos from the Newspaper Navigator dataset, consisting of all extracted photos in the dataset published between 1900 and 1963 (Library of Congress).

Education Databases

These include lesson plans and research to support your Capstone Projects.

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural education, secondary education, higher education, and distance education.
Also included are topics of religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration. Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals plus indexing and abstracts for 2,300+ other journals. Includes full text for over 550 books, monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Dates covered: 1960s-present.
ERIC: EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC), the world's largest source of education information, contains abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Includes descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. ERIC currently boasts more than 1.3 million bibliographic records plus links to more than 323,000 full-text documents. Dates covered: 1966-present.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –

Off-Campus Login

When you click on links for databases, digital media, or electronic books, you will be prompted to log in. Your access should last for at least 2 hours and you should be able to move to other databases without logging in again. If you prefer, you may CLICK HERE to log in now.

In the event the above link does not work, most AU databases are also available via the OhioLINK Log-in.

Law Databases

Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
Legal Collection offers full text for more than 300 of the world’s best law journals. It provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal subjects such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor, and human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1965

Biography Databases

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical coverage of more than 660,700 individuals including 380,000+ full-text articles plus 35,400+ images.
Documents include biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries. Included in OneSearch

Archer Library

History-MA in American History and Government (MAHG): Journals, Articles, & Databases