LibGuides: Biblical Commentary and Criticism: Reference eBooks

EBook Databases

Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new window
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars.
Draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the Bible. Not included in OneSearch.
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics.
With over 7 million words of authoritative content, the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary remains the gold standard reference for Biblical Studies. It is an unprecedented interfaith exploration of the Bible that is interdisciplinary in scope. Not included in OneSearch.
EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
EBSCO eBook Religion Collection This link opens in a new window
This eBook collection covers a broad range of religious subjects to help readers explore religious beliefs, faith, cultural systems, and world views.
Titles range from introductory text for undergraduate coursework to more complex works for advanced scholars.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
IVP Bible Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
The IVP Bible Dictionary Series presents significant evangelical biblical scholarship from the 20th and 21st centuries
These volumes are "committed to affirming the authority of Scripture, utilizing contemporary research and the best critical methods, and maintaining dialog with the challenges facing today's church." This series is used by scholars, pastors, teachers, students, and lay people alike, and is available on the Credo Reference platform. (InterVarsity Press & Credo).