LibGuides: History &amp; Political Science Resources: Political Science

Country Resources on the Web

Library of Congress Country Studies
The focus is on lesser-known areas of the world. Does not include major countries.
Embassies in the U.S.
Library of Congress Portals to the World
CIA World Fact Book
Country Background Notes
Country Briefings: From the Economist Intelligence Unit
Library of Congress Global Gateway
Provides primary source materials relating to the history and culture and thousands of digital items. In addition, it is a portal to international research centers, collections, available at the Library of Congress.

Current Events

Newspapers

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and more.

Political Science Databases

U.S. Political Stats
U.S. Political Stats contains over 225,000 data series—or data measures over time about people, places, and policies—across 10 distinct political science data categories, aligned with a typical political science curriculum. The data series span as far back as 1982, and are updated on a timely basis in accordance with the collection and publication schedules of original sources.

International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks around the world. IPSA is an indispensable the fields of political science, political sociology, political psychology, political communications, international relations, international law, human rights, conflict studies, ethnic studies and related fields.
Provides indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. Contains over 282,000 records from over 1,000 journals.
Official Document System of the United Nations (ODS) This link opens in a new window
ODS is an online database of UN documents; contains full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward. The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016.
Includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete is a full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics.
With hundreds of full-text journals and thousands of conference papers, it is a valuable resource for political science researchers and government institutions.

Subject Guide

Jessica Byers

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Curator Librarian
Office: 301 Archer Library

Ashland University
509 College Ave
Ashland, OH

419-289-5407

Subjects: Archer Library Event Guides, Archer Library Faculty Resources, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Environmental Science, History, Mathematics, Political Science, Sport Management

Archer Library

History & Political Science Resources: Political Science

Country Resources on the Web

Current Events

Newspapers

Political Science Databases

Subject Guide

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.