Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Map Collections
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A large, well-organized site, created and maintained by the University of Texas at Austin, that provides electronic access to approximately 4,000 maps for all regions of the world. Maps cover mostly the 19th and 20th centuries though some represent time p
David Rumsey Collection.
An ever-growing collection of primarily 18th- and 19th-century North and South American cartographic materials with approximately 5,000 maps currently in place. High-quality digital images showcasing a variety of maps, atlases, globes, and other cartograp
Library of Congress American Memory Map Collections
Provides access to digital representations of maps found in the Geography and Maps Division of the Library of Congress and covering the years 1500–1999. Search using keywords or browse the subject, title, creator, and geographic indexes to find maps tha
National Atlas of the United States
This site is from the U.S. Geological Survey and is an online “cousin” to the original National Atlas of the United States produced in the 1970s. Choose “Atlas Maps” to use the National Atlas Map Browser to build, view, and print maps using a vari
American Fact Finder
This site from the U.S. Census Bureau is the site to visit for 2000 Census data and provides both reference maps, which show basic boundary information (cities, counties, census tracts, etc.) and thematic maps. The Thematic Map option allows the user to s
American Studies Cultural Maps
From the University of Virginia. The beginnings of an online "historical geography of America" with extensive links to other map collections.
CIA World Factbook Maps
The World Factbook Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Country Resources on the Web
Maps at AU Library
You may search for "atlas" as a Subject or a Keyword in the AU Library catalog. Many atlases and maps are shelved on the main floor in the reference collection. Look on the shelves labeled G or on the atlas stands.
A few of our atlases:
Ohio Map Database
Sanborn Digital Maps
Sanborn Digital Maps are large scale street plans of Ohio cities produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk.
US Voting Maps
Voting America encourages users to think about US political history by allowing two types of comparison. Video analysis and animations of a single type of map--say, measuring the winner of presidential elections at the county level--allow for comparisons across time.