It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We offer interlibrary loan for articles that are not available through our databases or from our print collection of journals. Interlibrary loan articles will be mailed to your home. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery.
Self-described as the definitive index of publications covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Indexes 1,700 journals, some from as far back as 1910. Also includes citations for and links to book reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and occurrences. Encompasses publications in more than 40 languages. Dates covered: 1950s-present Included in OneSearch
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.
This Collection was released in five series.
Series 1 presents titles dating from 1693 through 1820.
Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837.
Series 3 presents over 1,700 titles dating from 1838 through 1852.
Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865.
Included in OneSearch
Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877.
Contains full content over 1,100 American periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900.
Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and ladies' magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals. Digitized reproduction of full pages allows researchers too see all original typography, drawings, graphic elements, article layouts, advertisements, and other matter exactly as originally published. (ProQuest) Dates covered: 1740-1940 This resource is not included in OneSearch
Contains over 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and gov't. documents of the U.S. and Canada.
Boasts a wide range of topics, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Essential for those interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples. Dates covered: 1500s-present. Included in OneSearch
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Contains statistics from over 1000 sources, with 37,339 separate data series spanning the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences.
Subject areas include (but are not limited to) history, governance, sociology, demography, natural resources, climate, international migration, and trade. Permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables/spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest. Dates covered: 1600s-2000s. This database is not included in OneSearch
Search and explore historic newspaper photographs from the Library of Congress's Chronicling America newspaper database. "The application contains 1.56 million photos from the Newspaper Navigator dataset, consisting of all extracted photos in the dataset published between 1900 and 1963."
All Newspaper Navigator photos in the app and dataset are in the public domain!
"The goals of Newspaper Navigator are 1) to extract visual content from 16+ million pages of digitized historic American newspapers in Chronicling America and 2) re-imagine how you, members of the American public, can search the visual content using machine learning techniques."
Includes full text of more than 7,000 research journals
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present. Included in OneSearch
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage Dates: 1984 -
Academic Search Complete is included in OneSearch
Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc. Reports typically cover issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, and technology
Comprehensive and high quality sociology research database.
Includes over 2.1 million records, providing full text for 860+ journals (dating back to 1908), 830+ books/monographs, and 16,800+ conference papers. Abstracts more than 1,300 core journals as well as 3,350+ additional journals. Encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology, including: abortion, criminology and criminal justice violence; demography; ethnic and racial studies; gender studies; marriage and family; substance abuse and other addictions; rural and urban sociology; social development social structure; social work; sociological research and theory; and many others. Also features over 25,000 author profiles per the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database. Dates covered: 1903-present. Included in OneSearch
Provides coverage of more than 500 full-text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Covers all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure. Dates covered: 1930-present. Included in OneSearch
Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Contains 871,000+ records based upon content from over 2,000 different periodicals. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites, web documents, and more. Dates covered: 1960s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch