It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Action Research: Databases & Journals
Use this guide as a starting point for action research.
Journals presented here are currently available in Ashland University Library databases. They are a starting place for your research. Be sure to evaluate individual articles on their own merit prior to use.
Publishers use terms to define availability of full text and range of publication dates. For example, a title that is embargoed may experience delays for full text availability.
Provides full text for over 1,400 journals plus indexing and abstracts for 2,300+ other journals.
Also includes full text for over 550 books, monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues. Dates covered: 1960s-present. Included in OneSearch
Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, higher education, distance education, religious education, instructional media, teaching methods, and school administration.
Indexes over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 and includes full text content from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Dates covered: 1983-present. Included in OneSearch
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center), the world's largest source of education information, contains abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. ERIC currently boasts more than 1.3 million bibliographic records plus links to more than 323,000 full-text documents. Dates covered: 1966-present. Included in OneSearch
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a freely accessible online digital library providing unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records for education resources, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week.
Documents indexed by ERIC include journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Some links to full text are included; for fuller access to full text use ERIC in the EBSCO interface or use OneSearch. (U.S. Dept. of Education). Dates covered: 1966-present. This public database is not included in OneSearch
Psychology database containing full text from 400 journals, with total journal/magazine coverage exceeding 560.
Provides information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch
Contains over 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health.
Includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage includes international material selected from over 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. Dates covered: 1920s-present (plus some older content) Included in OneSearch
A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage Dates: 1984 -
Academic Search Complete is included in OneSearch
Comprehensive collection of full-text education journals.
Includes over 700 abstracted/indexed journals (500+ of which are peer reviewed) and over 500 full-text journals (350+ of which are peer reviewed). Also contains over 200 educational reports. This database is a subset of Education Research Complete. Dates covered: 1963-present (plus some older content). This database is not included in OneSearch
Includes full text of more than 7,000 research journals
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present. Included in OneSearch
A free online database of masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.
Contains abstracts for all included theses and dissertations. Full-text available on an "as provided" basis. A component of the OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons. Dates covered: 1960s-present. Included in OneSearch
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature; language and linguistics; folklore; literary theory and criticism; rhetoric and composition; historical background, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature; and historical aspects of printing and publishing. Includes searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Dates covered: 1843-present. Included in OneSearch