Skip to Main Content

Archer Library


 

 

Special Collections

Overview of Special Collections at Ashland University including Special Books and Archives

Gallery

Above view of books on shelves, some marble

Top View of Special Books shelves

This is from the Fine Bindings section of the Special Books Collection, note the tooled leather spines, colored pages, and the marbling of some of the pages as well. 

Christmas Carol 10th edition

Christmas Carol 10th edition

From 1844 as a facsimile, or exact recreation, of the first edition which was so popular is ran through multiple printings in a few years. 

Tree calf binding on cover of book

Tree Calf binding

A type of binding where acid is carefully applied to a curved piece of leather to produce a specific detailing that resembles a tree which is then used to bind the book.

3d books showing scenes through a round theater style set

Roland Pym 1950s Early pop-up books

These are a predecessor of the pop-up book called the "Peepshow" that was created by Ronald Pym with skills from his theater background. 

Introduction

Special Books Collection is a secure area of the Ashland University Library where books are kept that are considered rare, unique, or fragile. These books are cataloged in the AU catalog but cannot be checked out. They must be viewed in the Special Books room with an appointment with the Curator. 

Materials in the Special Books Room are selected based on many different factors: age, condition, value, or author. The books are kept in a separate secure room where we can do our best to minimize their handling and control the temperature and humidity. This will help preserve the books for future generations. 

 

The display areas on the Main Floor of the Library often has displays that feature a selection of the Special Books Collection books and items. 

 

Special Book Policy sign, image from Wind in the Willows- illust. by A. Rackham

To provide the best care for our collections, we ask that everyone be accompanied by the Curator in the Special Books room, so please reach out to the Curator to learn more!

Special Books Background

The contents and focus of the Special Books collection has been largely shaped by donors. Over the years a few noted individuals have donated large collections of books (and occasionally related items) to Ashland University.

This collection includes over 6,000 books as well as serials, maps, almanacs, and book related objects. Topics range from American Literature, History, and British Literature, to books about books/book making, French Literature, and Children's literature. 

The Room is divided into different areas that were created by the original Curator in the 1970s. They are as follows:

American History
American Literature
Art
Biblical Literature
Books about Books
Curiosa
Children's Books
Customs and Costumes
Dickens
English History
English Literature
Fine Bindings
First Editions
French Literature
Harold McCuen
Irving
Illustrated editions
James
Jack Matthews
Kipling
Miniature Books
Misc. Books
Press Books
Shakespeare
Temporary
Whitman

When Dr. May Pyle Andrews, Ashland College English professor, moved in 1967 a large portion of her and her late husband, Reverand H. E. Andrews', book collection came to Ashland College - about 14,000 books. The collection also contained papers and special documents.

 

An Ashland College alum, Harold McCuen gifted multiple donations to the collection in 1988-1989. His contributions include children's books, special magazines, almanacs, books about literature and books and over 400 miniature books.

On behalf of her late husband, Orrin B. Werntz, Mrs. Werntz donated books, maps, letters to the AU Special Books collection. This collection's strengths lie in American history and travel books. 

An Ashland University Librarian and professor for 37 years, Lulu Wood's donation is comprised mainly of children's books and British Literature. 

 

 

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.