LibGuides: Special Collections: Ashland Archives

About

Ashland University Archives contains historical records from Ashland University and some related organizations. Although coverage varies we have some records from the early days through the present.

Our Mission:

The purpose of the Ashland University Archives is to collect, organize, preserve, index, and make available for research use historical information related to the following organizations: Ashland University, the Ashbook Center, and the Brethren Church.

Most of the collection is searchable online at https://ashland.pastperfectonline.com/. If you are looking for something specific and cannot locate it please reach out to the Curator (Jessica Byers).

About Ashland University

The Ashland University Archives contains photographs, yearbooks, and institutional files from Ashland University as well as collections from the Ashbook Center and the Brethren Church.

Our former longtime Archivist, Dave Roepke, has created some pages that are of interest about Ashland University.

On June 28, 1877, a town meeting was held in Ashland, Ohio, where the citizens of Ashland were to consider a proposal from members of the German Baptist Brethren Church to establish an institution of higher education. The Ashland Press reported that the citizens were promised the college would locate there if their city would raise $10,000.

The church and community fund raising campaign proved to be a success and on Feb. 17, 1878, a meeting was held to add up campaign funds and make final plans. The success of the campaign was announced, the College was chartered on Feb. 20 and a church-related, co-educational institution was established.

In April of 1878, the board of trustees decided to purchase the “most desirable plot in town - 28 acres on the hill.” The first buildings to be constructed were Founders Hall and Allen Hall, constructed from bricks made on the site. Classes opened at Ashland College on Sept. 17, 1879, with around 60 students and eight faculty members.

The new institution grew slowly during its first few decades, but enrollment reached the 200 mark shortly after the turn of the century. By the 1950s, the College had added many new programs of study and experienced rapid growth from about 300 students to more than 2,500 in 1970. In 1989, college officials decided to change the name of the institution to Ashland University to reflect more accurately what the college had become – an institution almost evenly divided between graduate and undergraduate students.

Progress continued on campus during the 1990s and 2000s with the construction of several new academic buildings as well as a new Student Center, Recreation Center, and Athletic Complex. In 2010, the University acquired MedCentral College of Nursing in Mansfield and constructed the state-of-the-art Dwight Schar College of Nursing and Health Sciences facility in Mansfield, which opened for classes in 2012.

Today, situated on a beautiful 135-acre campus with trees, brick walkways and flower gardens, Ashland University affords close proximity to the big city while offering the advantages of an intimate campus experience in a small-town setting. Deeply rooted in tradition, yet always moving forward, AU provides unparalleled opportunities for students to learn, grow and find their place in the world.

The University has grown to 6,600 total students and is ranked in the top tier of the colleges and universities in U.S. News and World Report’s National Universities category. Ashland University continues to value the individual student by offering a unique educational experience that combines the challenge of strong, applied academic programs with a faculty and staff who build nurturing relationships with their students.

Louise - Eagle statue painted purple and white

The Ashland University eagle statue refers to the small 4-foot tall eagles which are placed around the Ashland campus. The tradition of placing eagle statues on the campus dates to 1941 when the first eagle statue appeared through the effort of the student body. Initially, the statues were the trademark for the Case Implement tractor company. Local Case tractor dealers had the eagle statue located outside of their business. Through the mischievous efforts of the Ashland student body these eagle statues began to appear on the campus. In 1965 The Case Implement Company donated the rights to produce the statue along with a large 20-foot eagle statue known as “Old Abe” to Ashland University.

The Eagles of Ashland University campus

Our convocation of eagles is currently at 28:
Location	Eagle Name	Honoree & year placed
Archer Library	Marian	2021 Robert and Janet Archer
Archer Library (Back entrance near Rinehart)	Charles	2000 Charles E. Parton Director of the Ashbrook Center
Alpha Sigma House	Fletch or Simon	1968
Bixler - Center for the Humanities	Don	Don Castle
Clark- Kilhefner Basketball Court	Freedom	1991 Operation Desert Storm
Center for the Arts - Arts & Humanities	Oz	1985
Clayton Hall	Glenn	1965 Dr. Glenn Clayton Ashland President
Schar College of Education	Dwight	Dwight Shar
Convocation Center Kem Hall	CK	1971 originally named Sam later re-named CK for Circle K Club
Founders Hall	Nadine	1960 Nadine Golby, music major
Gill Center/ Welcome Center	Lucy	Dr. Lucille Ford
Hawkins-Conrad Student Center	Earl	1997 Earl Hawkins
Jack W. Liebert Military & Veteran Services Center	Jack	2020 anonymous donation to honor all veterans
Jacobs Hall	Jake	1958 Dr. Edwin Jacobs Ashland President
Kappa Sigma House	Van	1964
Kates Family Consumer Science Center	Ruth	1963 Ruth Davis Manager of the Eagles Nest
Kettering	Milt	1963 Dr. Milton Puterbaugh alias Charlie for Charlie Kettering
Myers Hall	Kate	1959 Kate Moor Myers benefactor for Myers Hall
Patterson Technology Center (former Library)	Dewey	1963
Phi Delta House	Fu	1966
Phi Psi House	Mr. C	2000 Don Cadley Education Professor
Physical Education/ Recreation Center	Old Abe	1965
Point on Claremont Avenue	Amylene	1949
Recreation Center	Maxie	2006 Maxine Sheets Rybolt
Richard E. and Sandra J. Dauch College of Business and Economics	Dick	2003 Richard E. Dauch
Schar College of Nursing and Health Science Mansfield, Ohio campus	Martha	2012 Martha Schar
Stadium (front)	Bob	2010 Bob Troop
Sadium (end zone)	Fred	2009 Fred Martinelli Physical Education Professor and Coach
TKE House	Apollo	1968 Formerly Sigma Nu/Fletch/Simon

Historical information regarding the campus and its buildings.

Buildings listed by year of construction

Founders Hall	Built 1878 Destroyed by fire in 1952. Rebuilt in 1955 First building on the Ashland campus.
Memorial Chapel Jack and Deb Miller Chapel	Built 1951 Groundbreaking on September 29, 1950 Dedicated August 22, 1952 Constructed with Monies raised by the Women’s Missionary Society of the Brethren Church. Renovated 2006 with support from Jack and Deb Miller-building renamed in their honor.
Phyllis Jacobson Kates Center for Family and Consumer Sciences	Built 1953 Rededicated September 24, 1977. Initially constructed as the student union in 1953.
Jacobs Hall	Built 1954 Groundbreaking October 23, 1954. Corner stone laid June 1, 1955. Named for Dr. Edwin Jacob’s, Ashland University president.
Myers Hall	Built 1958 Groundbreaking May 9, 1958. Named for longtime Ashland University benefactor, Kate Moore Myers.
Bixler Hall Center for the Humanities	Built 1965 Constructed originally with one floor; used as the Central Services building from 1965 to 1968. 1968 two additional floors added. Renamed for Dr. Raymond Bixler, Ashland University president on November 1, 1970. Building renovated and renamed the Center for the Humanities 2007.
Patterson Center	Built 1961 Used as the university library until 1972. Renovated and renamed Patterson Student Center 1974 Converted into the Technology Center 1997.
Kettering Science Center	Built 1963 Groundbreaking October 5, 1962 Dedicated March 14, 1964 Renovated and expanded 2006 Named for local area inventor Charles F. Kettering.
Community Stadium	Built 1963 Groundbreaking June 5, 1963 Dedicated October 1964
Clayton Hall Redwood Dining Hall	Built 1964 Groundbreaking September 23, 1964 Named for both Dr. Glenn L. Clayton, Ashland University president, and former Redwood Stadium.
Maintenance Building Claremont Avenue	Acquired 1964 Formerly the Pontiac Garage built in 1924.
Clark and Kilhefner Halls	Built 1966 Groundbreaking May 22, 1965 Dedicated October 30, 1966 Named for the families of J. L. Clark and Isaac Kilhefner, former members of the Ashland University board of trustees. Buildings are located on the former site of Redwood Stadium.
Physical Education Center Conard Field House	Built 1966 Groundbreaking May 22, 1965. Conard Field House named for John and Pearl Conard. Mr. Conard was a former member of the Ashland University board of trustees.
Andrews Hall	Built 1968 Named for Dr. May Pyle Andrews, professor of English.
Kem and Amstutz Halls	Built 1968-1970 Named for former trustees, Myron S. Kem and Harvey J. Amstutz.
Gill Center for Business and Economic Education Welcome Center	Built 1933 Donated to Ashland University August 1968 Former home of R. C. Garettson.
Arts and Humanities Building Center for the Arts	Built 1968 Groundbreaking February 24, 1968 Dedicated February 22, 1970
John C. Myers Convocation Center	Built 1969 Dedicated November 1, 1970 Named for John C. Myers longtime Ashland University benefactor.
Robert M. & Janet L. Archer Library	Built 1970 Completed & opened on January 1973 Named for Robert M. & Janet L. Archer longtime Ashland University benefactors - May 6, 2021. 131 feet tall, it is the tallest building in Ashland County
Wurster Fitness Center	Built 1990 Groundbreaking December 11, 1989 Named for the family of Tom and Ann Wurster. Tom Wurster graduated from Ashland University 1964.
Hawkins-Conard Student Center	Built 1995 Groundbreaking April 21, 1995 Dedicated October 12, 1996 Named for Earl and Betty Hawkins John and Pearl Conard
Richard E. and Sandra J. Dauch College and Business and Economics	Built 2002 Groundbreaking May 10, 2002 Dedicated November 14 and 21, 2003 Funded by Richard E. and Sandra J. Dauch family foundation Burton D. Morgan foundation
Senior Apartments	Completed 2002
Recreation Center Rybolt Sports Sciences Center Dwight Schar College of Education	Dedicated September 29, 2006
Schar Athletic Complex Miller Stadium	Constructed 2009
Schar College of Nursing	Groundbreaking June 16, 2011
Jack W. Liebert Military & Veteran Resource Center	Built in 1942 (as Brethren Church headquarters and publishing company) Renovation 2019 Dedicated October 19, 2020

Archer Library

Special Collections

Jessica Byers

Contact:

Ashland University Library, Main Floor

509 College Ave

Ashland, Ohio

jbyers7@ashland.edu

419.289.5407

About

About Ashland University

The Eagles of Ashland University campus

Location

Eagle Name

Honoree & year placed

Archer Library

Marian

2021

Robert and Janet Archer

Archer Library

(Back entrance near Rinehart)

Charles

2000

Charles E. Parton

Director of the Ashbrook Center

Alpha Sigma House

Fletch or Simon

1968

Bixler - Center for the Humanities

Don

Don Castle

Clark- Kilhefner Basketball Court

Freedom

1991

Operation Desert Storm

Center for the Arts - Arts & Humanities

Oz

1985

Clayton Hall

Glenn

1965

Dr. Glenn Clayton

Ashland President

Schar College of Education

Dwight

Dwight Shar

Convocation Center

Kem Hall

CK

1971

originally named Sam

later re-named CK for Circle K Club

Founders Hall

Nadine

1960

Nadine Golby, music major

Gill Center/ Welcome Center

Lucy

Dr. Lucille Ford

Hawkins-Conrad Student Center

Earl

1997

Earl Hawkins

Jacobs Hall

Jake

1958

Dr. Edwin Jacobs

Ashland President

Kappa Sigma House

Van

1964

Kates Family Consumer Science Center

Ruth

1963

Ruth Davis

Manager of the Eagles Nest

Kettering

Milt

1963

Dr. Milton Puterbaugh

Built 1878
Destroyed by fire in 1952.
Rebuilt in 1955
First building on the Ashland campus.

Memorial Chapel
Jack and Deb Miller Chapel

Built 1951
Groundbreaking on September 29, 1950
Dedicated August 22, 1952
Constructed with Monies raised by the Women’s Missionary Society of the Brethren Church.
Renovated 2006 with support from Jack and Deb Miller-building renamed in their honor.

Built 1953
Rededicated September 24, 1977.
Initially constructed as the student union in 1953.

Built 1954
Groundbreaking October 23, 1954.
Corner stone laid June 1, 1955.
Named for Dr. Edwin Jacob’s, Ashland University president.

Built 1958
Groundbreaking May 9, 1958.
Named for longtime Ashland University benefactor, Kate Moore Myers.

Bixler Hall
Center for the Humanities