LibGuides: ENG 428 • American Literature IV: 1945 to Present: eBook Collections

eBook Collections

Introducing eBooks

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Locate eBooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch. Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device. When reading an EBSCO eBook, it is possible to create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection includes more than 246,700 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects. It features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in numerous subject areas.
Encompasses the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions), with an overall total of half a million documents. Not included in OneSearch.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
EBC contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
Routledge Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date overviews of classic and current research across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built Environment from Routledge and CRC Press.
Approximately 2,700 e-books to support a broad curriculum: humanities, social sciences, science & technology, and more. Includes all Handbooks published through 2021. From Taylor & Francis. (GEER Funded)
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. It is the place to find valuable, useful, and inspirational research and academic information.
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research.Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject, or limit search to content available to AU users.
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.
Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory.

Included in OneSearch

Select eBooks

Edward Said and the Authority of Literary Criticism
Call Number: OhioLINK eBook • 2019
"This book offers a rich and novel understanding of the critical practice of this indispensable figure and the institutional context from which it emerged."
Surveyors of Customs: American Literature as Cultural Analysis
Call Number: OhioLINK eBook • 2015
"Literary surveyors have helped make possible and can advance what we now call cultural analysis. In recent decades cultural theory and history have changed how we read literature. The surveyors convened herein wrote novels, stories, plays, poetry, essays, autobiography, journals, and cultural criticism."

EBSCO eBooks

Need help locating EBSCO eBooks? Watch this tutorial to learn more.

Archer Library

ENG 428 • American Literature IV: 1945 to Present: eBook Collections

eBook Collections

Introducing eBooks

Explore eBook Collections

Select eBooks

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.