LibGuides: ENG 428 • American Literature IV: 1945 to Present: Database Resources

About this Page

What is a Database?

Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.

Archer Library, as a member of OhioLINK, has purchased access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, ProQuest, and Gale. They are proprietary resources, meaning availability is restricted to Ashland University and OhioLINK users. For this reason, students are required login with their AU credentials to view and use from off campus locations.

Select Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Includes general topic research resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps, and flags. Content includes 1,579 full-text magazines and journals, and 55,000 full-text primary source documents.
America History & Life This link opens in a new window
Self-described as the definitive index of publications covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals, some from as far back as 1910.
Also includes citations for and links to book reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and occurrences. Dates covered: 1950s-present.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations, and more.
Access to more than 921,000 records, thousands of links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web, and hundreds of links to carefully selected and important websites. Dates covered: 1930s-present (plus some older content).
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
It compasses all fields of the humanities, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion, and more. EBSCO has the premier and most highly regarded scholarly vocabularies curated by subject matter experts.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database of bibliographic records for materials related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Included in OneSearch
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Contains 871,000+ records based upon content from over 2,000 different periodicals. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites, web documents, and more. Dates covered: 1960s-present (plus some older content). Included in OneSearch

Select Databases

Assignment Specific Resources

Includes database resources for literature, literary criticisms, and authors.

Humanities with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals dating back to 1984.
The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio, and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by MLA, the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present.
Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
It provides a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. Also included are lesson plans and literary study guides plus full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and children's literature.

Literature Databases

Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This database cites records contained in more than 7,000 collections of essays and miscellaneous works in the humanities and social sciences published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Years covered: 1985-present.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
MLA Directory of Periodicals lists over 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.
Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
This database is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, or for those researching a body of work of a literary figure.
Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories. Years covered: 1984-present. Included in OneSearch

Archer Library

ENG 428 • American Literature IV: 1945 to Present: Database Resources

About this Page

What is a Database?

Select Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Select Databases

Assignment Specific Resources

Literature Databases

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.