LibGuides: ENG 101 • English Composition [Allen]: Books &amp; eBooks

Library Collections

Overview • Library Catalogs

What is the library catalog? Generally speaking, a library catalog is a bibliographic listing of all items - physical and electronic - found in a library collection. Ashland University students have access to Archer Library catalog and the OhioLINK Library catalog.

Archer Library catalog contains information to help users locate resources, such as books, eBooks, music, journals, in Archer Library's collections.
The OhioLINK catalog is a shared resource that contains the holdings (collections) of all 117 OhioLINK libraries. Students are able to request items from the OL catalog that are not available in Archer Library's catalog.

Archer Library Catalog

Start your search with Archer Library catalog:

Writing Titles

eBooks to Consider

Authentic Writing
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2021
"In Authentic Writing, Jeff Rice uses this question to trace a position regarding critique, the role of the scholar, the role of the personal in scholarship, the banal as subject matter, and the idea of authenticity."
A Student's Writing Guide
Call Number: EBSCO eBook, 2009
This text covers everything a student needs to know about writing essays and papers in the humanities and social sciences.

eBook Collections

Overview • eBook Collections

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Locate eBooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch. Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device. When reading an EBSCO eBook, it is possible to create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection includes more than 246,700 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects. It features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
ProQuest Ebook Central: This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 500 electronic books from academic publishers, purchased by OhioLINK and formerly available on the ebrary platform.
Each work is available to a limited number of simultaneous users statewide. (ProQuest)
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in numerous subject areas.
Encompasses the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions), with an overall total of half a million documents. Not included in OneSearch.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
EBC contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.

Archer Library

ENG 101 • English Composition [Allen]: Books & eBooks