Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.
Archer Library, as a member of OhioLINK, has provides access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, and Gale. These proprietary resources are restricted to select users; for this reason, off campus use requires login with AU credentials.
Alphabetical listing of Archer Library databases and eBook collections.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Explora provides students with research tools to obtain appropriate types of content (magazines, newspapers, biographies, etc.) on a variety of topics.
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform for Higher Education provides access to thousands eBooks, videos, expert-curated courses, and interactive learning environments for business, technology, and more. Users will need to enter their Ashland email address to access the site and view content.
Searching for information about Booker T. Washington, Tuskegee Institute, and answering your assignment question: Why was Booker T. Washington so strict with the students at Tuskegee Institute?
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Provides contextual and authoritative articles, research reports, videos, statistics, and opinion on hundreds of current social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Self-described as the definitive index of publications covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals, some from as far back as 1910.
This biographical database offers in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index and specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes a selection of active full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational specialties, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related issues
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.