Used in more than 13,000 schools, universities, and institutions around the world, the collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Nearly all of the journals collected in JSTOR are peer-reviewed publications, but the archives also contain primary sources and content that is much older than today's standard peer-review process.
Register for a free JSTOR account for access to personal research tools, including the option to organize articles, notes, and research materials into personalized folders.
This simple search for Booker T. Washington in JSTOR returned 19,490 results and includes journals (9.926), Book Chapters (444), and research reports (113). It also features primary source content such as serials (6,770), documents (1,1047), books (745), and images.
It is possible to refine results by choosing a specific content type, as well as subject area such as African American Studies (2,365), African Studies (276), and American Studies 93,182).
This advanced search for Booker T. Washington AND Tuskegee Institute was limited to articles and books. It returned 1,025 results and includes journals (927) and book chapters (98).
As with the simple search, it is possible to refine search results by choosing a subject area. For this search, options include African American Studies (379), African Studies (53), and American Studies (259).
The journal article results screen for Booker T. Washington: Understanding the Wizard of Tuskegee provides full text of the article, downloadable as a PDF, as well as details needed to properly cite this article.
Information about the journal issue, item details, search matches in the article, where it's been cited, and select related texts are also provided.
Article Citation:
Norrell, Robert J. “Booker T. Washington: Understanding the Wizard of Tuskegee.” The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education, no. 42, 2003, pp. 96–109. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/3592453. Accessed 2 Oct. 2025.
