LibGuides: ENG 101 • English Composition [Waterman]: Session 1 • Databases

What is a Database?

Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful tool providing students the ability to craft, modify, and limit search results to find credible information.

Archer Library, as a member of OhioLINK, provides students with access to database collections from vendors such as EBSCO, Gale, and JStor. These proprietary resources are restricted to select users. Off campus use requires login with AU credentials.

Discovery Layer

Image: OneSearch & Library Resources Box, Archer Library

OneSearch

Located on the library web site with research resources.

OneSearch is a comprehensive search tool providing access to the library catalog and databases using a single search box. It is 'one-stop-shopping,' so to speak, allowing users to identify a wide variety of resources - books, e-books, and articles.

OneSearch can save time and may lead you to sources otherwise overlooked. It is useful for locating information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.

OneSearch can be overwhelming due to the volume of items returned with a single search. Take time to focus search results using filters provided.

Select Databases

Session 1 • Research Starters

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual and authoritative articles, research reports, videos, statistics, and opinion on hundreds of current social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Drawing on the Greenhaven Press series and frequently updated, it provides viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text articles (from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers), primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. (Gale)
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument).
Each topic also features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
TOPICSearch This link opens in a new window
A current events database covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics. Contains full text of over one hundred thousand articles from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, and government information.
The search options allow users to select particular current events and popular topics from drop-down menus.