The primary types of informative speech have to do with the content and purpose of the speech (Adler, 2024, p. 386).
Informative speeches are generally categorized according to content (Adler, 2024, p. 386).
We ask "Does the speaker seek to describe, explain, or instruct?" (Adler, 2024, p, 386-7)
Reference
Adler, R.B., DuPre, A., Rodman, G., & Overton, B.C. (2024). Understanding human communications (15th ed). Oxford University Press.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and more
Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts.
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines including business and management, climate science, criminology and criminal justice, education, environmental science, international studies, literature, politics, psychology, and religion..
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
CultureGrams Online provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. Read country reports on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Resources for information about a variety of topics.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
The Chilton Library is a database of automotive help. It includes step-by-step service and repair procedures, wiring diagrams, maintenance and specification tables, troubleshooting guides, and diagnostic trouble codes.
Provides contextual and authoritative articles, research reports, videos, statistics, and opinion on hundreds of current social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Hobbies & Crafts Source includes leading full-text hobby and craft magazines, hobby profiles, recipes, and videos. Subjects Included are Arts and crafts, Collecting, Cooking and baking, Holiday crafts, Home and garden, Indoor recreation, Needlecrafts and textiles, Outdoor recreation, and Performing arts.
Home Improvement Source offers full-text content from leading home improvement magazines and reference books, plus a collection of images not found anywhere else online.
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform for Higher Education provides access to thousands eBooks, videos, expert-curated courses, and interactive learning environments for business, technology, and more. Users will need to enter their Ashland email address to access the site and view content.
A current events database covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics. Contains full text of over one hundred thousand articles from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, and government information.