Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
MathSciNet, an online publication of the American Mathematical Society, combines powerful search functionality with the authority of a team of trained mathematicians, editors and over 19,000 active reviewers.
Open access to 1,550,463 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Created by the H.W. Wilson company, this database covers all applied science specialties. Topics include acoustics, aeronautics, neural networks, nuclear engineering, physics, and space science.
Contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Provides a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles.
Covers the research and development spectrum of computing and applied sciences disciplines. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and professional context.
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
OneSearch is a research discovery tool searching a full-range of Archer Library's databases and the library catalog with a single search. It will help you locate books, articles, eBooks, and available media.
OneSearch is a useful first step for your research. It can save time and may lead you to sources otherwise overlooked. It is incredibly useful when you need basic information to start your research process, whether from a book, journal, magazine, newspaper, or eBook.
OneSearch is a great tool when you think you have exhausted all other sources and want to verify you have not overlooked a database or book.
OneSearch Examples
Research Starter Database: Applied Mathematics
Salem Press Encyclopedia of Science, 2022: "Applied mathematics is the application of mathematical principles and theory in the real world."
Research Starter Database: Information Theory
Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2023: "Information theory is a branch of mathematics that extends into biology, engineering, psychology, medical science, communications, and sociology."
