Skip to main content

AU Library LibQUAL+® Survey

Information for AU Library's 2019 LibQual+ Survey

AU Library & LibQUAL+ ®

LibQual

Ashland University Library
2019 LibQual Survey

Survey Dates:  October 21 - November 15, 2019

AU Library LibQUAL Survey Results

 

LibQUAL Survey Basics


 

LibQUAL Comments


 

LibQUAL local Q Infographic

LibQualSurvey Comment Q & A

This section includes answers to some of the frequently asked questions posted to the LibQUAL comments section. LibQUAL service areas are noted with each information section.


Information Control (Resources)

Where can I learn more about library services and resources?

Library Services

AU Library provides a wide variety of services and resources for students, faculty, and staff. The Library web site has pages specifically for students, faculty & staff, and visitors.

Blackboard Learn: AU Library Student Orientation

AU Library student orientation features information about resources and services available to AU students in person and online. It is a starting point for all things Ashland University Library including research, resources, library guides, and OhioLINK. Navigating the information landscape can be challenging, we are here to help.

Blackboard Learn: Faculty Resources

AU Library's Faculty site is a starting point for resources, information, and services provided by AU Library to all faculty, with an emphasis on those teaching hybrid and online course content via Bbl.


Library computers, software, and printers.

Why aren't there more computers in the Library?

Ashland University's Information Technology department manages library computers and printers, and determines what software is available on each system for students to use. 

Why are the computers in the library so old?

AU Library is part of the campus computer refresh list. The Information Technology department manages library computers and determines when new PCs are needed.

We need to have this software (various recommendations) in the Library

Library computers currently offer Microsoft Office, Adobe Reader DC, Audacity, VLC Media Player, Google Earth, and internet browsers. IT determines what software is available for students on these systems.

Why aren't there more printers in the library? I should be able to color print.

There are three print quota - Find Me / Google Cloud - printers in the library; two are located the main floor and one is on the second floor. Color printing is available from all three printers. It is possible to send a print job from any campus computer, or laptop using cloud printing, and release the print job


Digital Material for Online Courses

Why aren't there ebook collections for online courses?

AU Library's e-book collections are available via the library catalog, OneSearch, OhioLINK, and are searchable through individual collections. A list of e-book collections is available on our web site.

Are there resources for online music and film for online use?

OhioLINK's Digital Media Resource Commons and Center and Music Center provide the AU community with access to film, music, and more.

LibQualLibrary Plans

This section includes a glimpse of library projects and plans in place as a result of LibQUAL comments and survey responses. LibQUAL service areas are noted with each information section


Information Control (Library Resources)

We really need an instruction classroom in the Library

We are excited to announce plans are already in the works for a NEW library instruction classroom! We anticipate construction beginning late summer.  Stay tuned!

Corrections education students would benefit from access to online resources.

The corrections education librarian, technical services librarian, and library director have been working with Ebsco to accomplish this access. It is a unique endeavor and we are looking forward to the final result.


Affects of Service

I wish the library had more stress relief programs.

Finals Week Stress Relief

In addition to our popular therapy dog program, we have added stress relief tables to each library floor during finals. Puzzles, coloring activities, and play-doh were available to students during the fall term.

Library Escape Rooms

A library escape room was presented in October to great reviews. The escape room committee has another great adventure planned for spring 2020.

Harry Potter Bingo Night

The library held a family-friendly Harry Potter bingo night in February; another bingo game night is being considered.


It would be nice if the IRC were open longer hours on Sunday.

IRC Sunday Hours: Spring 2020.

The Instructional Resource Center is piloting an extended Sunday schedule this spring.  Beginning in January, Sunday hours are 1 pm to 10 pm. We will evaluate and make determination regarding fall hours at a later time.