LibGuides: ENG 332 • Global Film [Grady]: Reference Resources

Online Map Collections

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A large, well-organized site, created and maintained by the University of Texas at Austin, that provides electronic access to approximately 4,000 maps for all regions of the world. Maps cover mostly the 19th and 20th centuries though some represent time p
Library of Congress American Memory Map Collections
Provides access to digital representations of maps found in the Geography and Maps Division of the Library of Congress and covering the years 1500–1999. Search using keywords or browse the subject, title, creator, and geographic indexes to find maps tha
CIA World Factbook Maps
The World Factbook Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

General Reference

Databases featured here are often used for general research. They will help you explore a topic, providing an overview and general information. If viewing from off campus, you will need to authenticate using your AU username and password.

ProQuest CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams Online provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. Read country reports on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. FThis database is updated annually.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Of the several hundred reference works on the site more than 60 are accessible based on purchase by OhioLINK. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines including business and management, climate science, criminology and criminal justice, education, environmental science, international studies, literature, politics, psychology, and religion..
These encyclopedias provide authoritative, objective overviews of significant topics. (Oxford University Press).
World Book This link opens in a new window
A suite of online research tools that delivers encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by periodicals and links to related websites.
Features separate components designed for use by students of different levels plus speakers of foreign languages. All databases are editor-screened for authenticity and age-appropriate content.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts.
World Book Timelines This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of customizable, interactive timelines of important events throughout history are pre-built for researchers, or users can create timelines from scratch.

Archer Library

ENG 332 • Global Film [Grady]: Reference Resources

Online Map Collections

General Reference

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.