LibGuides: FYS 1 • First Year Seminar [Posner]: Library Databases

What is a Database?

Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, or media, available to users online. They are a powerful search tool providing students the ability to modify results and find credible information.

Select Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
Humanities with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals dating back to 1984.
The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio, and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
It provides a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. Also included are lesson plans and literary study guides plus full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and children's literature.

General Reference

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
OED entries describe the origin, meaning, and history of each word by analyzing evidence of usage from the earliest known to the most recent. Currently there are almost 850,000 definitions in the dictionary, and around 15,000 definitions are added each year.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of Oxford University Press dictionaries and encyclopedias on a variety of subjects
Of the several hundred reference works on the site more than 60 are accessible based on purchase by OhioLINK. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of disciplines including business and management, climate science, criminology and criminal justice, education, environmental science, international studies, literature, politics, psychology, and religion..
These encyclopedias provide authoritative, objective overviews of significant topics. (Oxford University Press). Not included in OneSearch

Getting Started

OneSearch

OneSearch is a research discovery tool searching a full-range of Archer Library's databases, and the library catalog, with a single search. It will help you locate books, articles, eBooks, and available media.

Consider • What to Expect

OneSearch is a useful first step for your research.

OneSearch can save time and may lead you to sources otherwise overlooked. It is incredibly useful when you just need basic information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.

OneSearch is a great tool when you think you have exhausted all other sources and want to verify you have not overlooked a database or book.

OneSearch Example 1 •

Research Starter Database: Persia / Persian Empire
Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2022: Overview includes information about Persia history, religion and ritual, language and literature, women's live, writing system, and daily life, customs, and traditions.

OneSearch Example 2 •

Research Starter Database: Xenophon
Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia, 2023: Biographical information for the Greek historian and philosopher includes early life, life's work, and significance.

Archer Library

FYS 1 • First Year Seminar [Posner]: Library Databases

What is a Database?

Select Databases

General Reference

Getting Started

OneSearch

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.