LibGuides: FYS 1 • First Year Seminar : eBook Collections

Looking @ eBooks

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device.

Selected eBooks • Frederick Douglass

Course Reading
Titles by Douglass

Life of Frederick Douglass

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave
Publication Date: 2016

A new edition of one of the most influential literary documents in American and African American history Ideal for coursework in American and African American history, this revised edition of Frederick Douglass's memoir of his life as a slave in pre-Civil War Maryland.
The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Publication Date: 2018

An American Slave is a first-hand account of his life from indentured slave to a free man. This important and factual work is one of the most persuasive books for the anti-slavery movement.
The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Publication Date: 2008

Frederick Douglass was an ex-slave and a great orator in early 19th-century USA. His autobiography details his experiences as a slave and is considered the most famous such work, though many similar were written by his contemporaries.
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave
Publication Date: 1999

Presents the memoirs of the famed abolitionist and statesman who escaped to the North after years of enslavement and who became a champion of human rights.

Fredrick Douglass, Author

My Bondage and My Freedom
My Bondage and My Freedom picks up where Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass left off. This volume recounts more gripping details of Douglass'transformation from illiterate slave to leading light of the abolitionist movement and offers an extended philosophical meditation on the meaning of slavery.
Life and Times of Frederick Douglass
In this amazing first-hand narrative, published in 1881, he vividly recounts his early years, which were filled with physical abuse, deprivation, and tragedy; his dramatic escapes to the North, recapture, and eventual freedom; his work for the Anti-Slavery Society and influential role in speaking for other African-Americans; his abolitionist campaigns, and crusade for full civil rights for former slaves.
Frederick Douglass: A Life in Documents
Douglass left a treasure trove of documentary evidence detailing his life in slavery and achievements in freedom. This volume gathers and interprets valuable selections from a variety of Douglass's writings, including speeches, editorials, correspondence, and autobiographies.
The Speeches of Frederick Douglass
A collection of twenty of Frederick Douglass's most important orations This volume brings together twenty of Frederick Douglass's most historically significant speeches on a range of issues, including slavery, abolitionism, civil rights, sectionalism, temperance, women's rights, economic development, and immigration.

Archer Library & OhioLINK

Explore Our eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks? These collections are a great place to start.

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.

Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
EBSCO eBook Collection:
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.

Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Electronic Book Center (EBC)
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.

Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
Cambridge Core
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject and limit search to content available to Ashland University users.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.

Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Oxford Scholarship Online
A collection of important scholarly eBooks from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences.

Works purchased by OhioLINK include titles in the subject collections of Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Accessible content is indicated with an open padlock. (Oxford University Press)

Archer Library

FYS 1 • First Year Seminar : eBook Collections