LibGuides: ENG 340 • Readings in Jewish Literature [Grady]: Library Collections

Overview • Library Catalogs

What is the library catalog? Generally speaking, a library catalog is a bibliographic listing of all items - physical and electronic - found in a library collection. Ashland University students have access to Archer Library catalog and the OhioLINK Library catalog.

Archer Library catalog contains information to help users locate resources, such as books, eBooks, music, journals, in Archer Library's collections.
The OhioLINK catalog is a shared resource that contains the holdings (collections) of all 117 OhioLINK libraries. Students are able to request items from the OL catalog that are not available in Archer Library's catalog.

Archer Library Catalog

Start your search with Archer Library catalog:

Holocaust Diaries & Narratives

The Diary of Anne Frank: The Critical Edition
Call Number: DS135.N6 F73313 1989
Offers a detailed examination of the diary and its author, providing biographical information on the Frank family
The Last Witness: The Child Survivor of the Holocaust
Call Number: RC451.4.H62 K47 1996
The Last Witness: The Child Survivor of the Holocaust looks in depth at the traumatic effects of genocidal persecution on the child's psychic structure and on development through the life cycle.
The Night Trilogy
Call Number: PQ2683.I32 Z467 1987
Three novels deal with a concentration camp survivor, a hostage holder in Palestine, and a recovering accident victim
Ghetto Diary
Call Number: DS135.P62 W272 1978
Korczak was sent into the Warsaw Ghetto after the Nazi occupation of Poland. He immediately set up an orphanage for more than two hundred children. Many of his admirers, Jewish and gentile, offered to rescue him from the ghetto, but Korczak refused to leave his small charges.

Holocaust Narratives: Fiction

The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank
Call Number: PS3572.I38 B69 2005
A fictionalized account of the post-war life of Peter, who hid in the secret annex with Anne Frank and her family, follows his survival of the Holocaust, his relocation to America, and his memories upon the publication of Anne's diary.
The Forgotten
Call Number: PQ2683.I32 O9213 1995
A Holocaust survivor struggles to come to terms with both the heroic and shameful events of his past, while his American-born son attempts to integrate his father's life and experiences with his own.
A Mad Desire to Dance
Call Number: PQ2683.I32 D4713 2009
A European orphan transplanted to New York, Doriel is shaped by the pain of the deaths of his parents following World War II and the horrors of the Holocaust, and seeks solace in an intense study of Judaism and a search for the secrets of his mother's life.

Juvenile Collection

Holocaust: Non-fiction
Holocaust: Fiction

Picture Books & Literature

Nicky and Vera
Call Number: D804.66.W56 S57 2021
In 1938, twenty-nine-year-old Nicholas Winton saved the lives of almost 700 children trapped in Nazi-occupied Czechoslovakia-a story he never told and that remained unknown until an unforgettable TV appearance in the 1980s reunited him with some of the children he saved.
The Brave Cyclist
Call Number: GV1051.B37 H64 2019
Putting his own life at risk, Bartali used his speed and endurance on a bike to deliver documents Jewish people needed to escape harm. His story reveals how one person could make a difference during the time of the Holocaust.
Irena's Jars of Secrets
Call Number: D804.66.S46 V38 2011
Biography of Irena Sendler, a Polish Catholic social worker who helped save nearly 2500 Jewish children during the Nazi occupation of Poland during World War II.
Six Million Paper Clips
Call Number: D804.33 .S34 2005
Describes the efforts of middle school students from the rural Tennessee town of Whitwell to create a Holocaust memorial based on a collection of millions of paper clips intended to represent all of the victims exterminated by the Nazis.
Always Remember Me
Call Number: DS135.G5 A15865 2005
While going through family albums, the author learns the awful truth about the Nazis' rise to power and the hardships her grandmother, her mother, and her aunts were forced to endure during the Holocaust.
Anne Frank, Beyond the Diary
Call Number: DS135.N6 F7385 1993
Photographs, illustrations, and maps accompany historical essays, diary excerpts, and interviews, providing an insight to Anne Frank and the massive upheaval which tore apart her world.
The Anne Frank Case
Call Number: DS135.A93 W536 2009
In 1958, in Linz, Austria, demonstrators interrupted a performance of The Diary of Anne Frank, claiming that Anne Frank never existed. Determined to prove otherwise, Simon Wiesenthal, a Holocaust survivor, set out to find the Gestapo officer who arrested the Franks years before.

Picture Books & Novels

What Rosa Brought
Call Number: PZ7.1.S245 Wh 2023
In this powerful and poignant story of family, immigration and identity - and a love that crosses oceans and lifespans - a young Jewish girl fleeing Nazi occupation with her parents wonders where they'll go and what she'll be able to bring with her.
The Tree in the Courtyard: Looking Through Anne Frank's Window
Call Number: PZ7.G6939 Tr 2015
Told from the perspective of the real-world tree outside Anne Frank's annex window, am introduction to the young Holocaust heroine's story describes its witness to her diary writings, her arrest by Nazi forces and her father's return after the war.
Otto
Call Number: PZ7.U43 Ot 2010
A powerful and beautiful book told first-hand by Otto, a German-born teddy bear who is separated from his Jewish owner, lives through World War II, and is reunited with his original owner 50 years later.
The Cats in Krasinski Square
Call Number: PZ7.H4364 Cat 2004
Two Jewish sisters, escapees of the infamous Warsaw ghetto, devise a plan to thwart an attempt by the Gestapo to intercept food bound for starving people behind the dark Wall.
Oskar and the Eight Blessings
Call Number: PZ7.S6055 Os 2015
A young Jewish refugee from Nazi Germany arrives in New York City on the seventh night of Hanukkah and receives small acts of kindness while exploring the city.
Star of Fear, Star of Hope
Call Number: PZ7.H67145 St 1995
Nine-year-old Helen is confused by the disappearance of her Jewish friend during the German occupation of Paris.