LibGuides: ENG 340 • Readings in Jewish Literature [Grady]: Exploring eBooks

Explore eBooks

Archer Library offers a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Titles are available in eBook collections, the library catalog, and via OneSearch. eBooks can be read on your computer or mobile device.

Select eBook Collections

These collections are a great place to start.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject and limit search to content available to Ashland University users.
De Gruyter University Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
De Gruyter is one of the world’s largest and most reputable humanities publishers. This eBook collection covers a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.
Full Collection Expired; 2023 Frontlist e-books from the following university press publishers will be made available with perpetual access as they are published: Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
EBSCO eBook Collection: This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in several subject areas including biography, business, education, history, literature, medicine, and social sciences.
Collection Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions). Not included in OneSearch.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.

Select eBooks: Fiction & Non-fiction

Kafka after Kafka: Dialogical Engagement with His Works from the Holocaust to Postmodernism
New essays providing an up-to-date picture of the engagement of artists, philosophers, and critics with Kafka's work.
The Palgrave Handbook of Holocaust Literature and Culture
The Palgrave Handbook of Holocaust Literature and Culture reflects current approaches to Holocaust literature that open up future thinking on Holocaust representation.
Witnessing the Disaster
Witnessing the Disaster examines how histories, films, stories and novels, memorials and museums, and survivor testimonies involve problems of witnessing: how do those who survived, and those who lived long after the Holocaust, make clear to us what happened?
After This: Survivors of the Holocaust Speak
Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Australian Novelist Alice Nelson provides the introductory essay for After This, a powerful collection of narratives by fourteen Holocaust survivors.
Inheriting the Holocaust: A Second-Generation Memoir
In Inheriting the Holocaust, Paula S. Fass explores her own past as the daughter of Holocaust survivors to reflect on the nature of history and memory.

Holocaust Graphic Narratives
In Holocaust Graphic Narratives, Victoria Aarons demonstrates the range and fluidity of this richly figured genre. Employing memory as her controlling trope, Aarons analyzes the work of the graphic novelists and illustrators, making clear how they extend the traumatic narrative of the Holocaust into the present.
The Representation of Genocide in Graphic Novels
This book mobilises the concept of kitsch to investigate the tensions around the representation of genocide in international graphic novels that focus on the Holocaust and the genocides in Armenia, Rwanda, and Bosnia.
The Quest for Jewish Belief and Identity in the Graphic Novel
Many Jewish artists and writers contributed to the creation of popular comics and graphic novels, and in The Quest for Jewish Belief and Identity in the Graphic Novel, Stephen E. Tabachnick takes readers on an engaging tour of graphic novels that explore themes of Jewish identity and belief.
Disaster Drawn: Visual Witness, Comics, & Documentary Form
Disaster Drawn explores the ways graphic narratives by diverse artists, including Jacques Callot, Francisco Goya, Keiji Nakazawa, Art Spiegelman, and Joe Sacco, document the disasters of war.
Redrawing the Historical Past: History, Memory, and Multiethnic Graphic Novels
Redrawing the Historical Past examines how multiethnic graphic novels portray and revise U.S. history. This is the first collection to focus exclusively on the interplay of history and memory in multiethnic graphic novels. Such interplay enables a new understanding of the past.

Comics As Communication: A Functional Approach
This book explores how comics function to make meanings in the manner of a language. It outlines a framework for describing the resources and practices of comics creation and readership, using an approach that is compatible with similar descriptions of linguistic and multimodal communication.
Documentary Comics: Graphic Truth-Telling in a Skeptical Age
Examining comics as documentary, this book challenges the persistent assumption that ties documentary to recording technologies, and instead engages an understanding of the category in terms of narrative, performativity and witnessing.
The Routledge Companion to Comics
This cutting-edge handbook brings together an international roster of scholars to examine many facets of comics and graphic novels.
The Philosophy of Comics: What They Are, How They Work, and Why They Matter
The Philosophy of Comics provides a ground-breaking, illustrated introduction to the study of comics and graphic novels, advancing the field of comics studies by attending to some of its most notable problems.
Teaching Graphic Novels in the English Classroom
This collection highlights the diverse ways comics and graphic novels are used in English and literature classrooms, whether to develop critical thinking or writing skills, paired with a more traditional text, or as literature in their own right.
Worth a Thousand Words
Worth a Thousand Words details how and why graphic novels are complex texts with advanced-level vocabulary, and demonstrates how to read and analyze these texts. It includes practical advice on how to integrate these books into both ELA and content-area classrooms.