Exploring advanced searching, author searches, and database thesauruses.
 |
1. Advance Search • TitleMLA International Bibliography provides access to subjects including literature, language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and rhetoric and composition. Also included in this database is a searchable directory of noted authors with links to brief descriptive notes. Initial database access defaults to advanced search. One of the search options is TI Title. ➤ Title Search: Everything I Never Told You |
 |
2. Browse Author • Literary CriticismUse the option Browse Author to locate a specific author, or authors, in the database. Enter the author name, last name first, and select browse. A selection of names will populate the list. In this example, Ng, Celeste is identified as Ng, Celeste (1980). Place a check mark next to her name, then click ADD, and search. ➤ Browse Author Results: Celeste Ng
|
 |
3. MLA Thesaurus • Browse TermsUse the thesaurus to understand what terms the database will use for searches. For example, when searching for literary criticisms for an author or work, exploring the thesaurus will identify what term or terms to use. In this instance, MLA International Bibliography uses “literary theory and criticism” for literary criticisms. Review the list of terms provided and select what meets your criteria. Place a check mark next to the term, click add, then search using the Boolean search parameters in place. ➤ Thesaurus Search: Literary Criticisms & Celeste Ng
|
 |
1. Basic Search • Getting StartedJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. When conducting a basic search, it is possible to identify item specifics in the search bar includiing title, publication name, or image. Opting for ‘just search for’ will complete the search as entered. In this example, a basic search Celeste Ng, will yield approximately 3.5K results. ➤ Basic Search: Celeste Ng |
 |
2. Refining Search ResultsSearch Within Results offers the ability to further refine (narrow) initial searches for specific terms. In this instance, the basic search results for Celeste Ng is refined by entering the book title "Everything I Never Told You" in the search withing results search box. ➤ Celest Ng: Everything I Never Told You Further refine results by selecting content type, academic journals and primary source. Consider identifying a date range, specifying a subject or language, and choose access options (everything, or content I can access). |
 |
3. Advanced Search • BooleanSearch results identified as journal articles may include items identified with a title of "Front Matter," or "Back Matter." Front matter is generally content that precedes articles in a journal (e.g., information about the journal) and back matter is presents advertisements after articles at the back of a journal. Use advance search to develop a Boolean search to exclude these results. Enter your search term; use the Boolean operators and choose NOT accompanied by the term Back Matter, and choose item title as the field. ➤ Advance Search: Not Back Matter, Front Matter
|