LibGuides: ENG 202 • Introduction to Literary Studies: eBook Collections

Introducing eBooks

Archer Library's collection includes a variety of electronic books, or eBooks. Locate eBooks in the library catalog or by using OneSearch. Read eBooks immediately on your computer or mobile device. When reading an EBSCO eBook, it is possible to create a free EBSCO account and "check them out" for an extended period of time.

Explore eBook Collections

Interested in using eBooks for your research project? These collections are a great place to start.

EBSCO eBook Collection:
Collection of eBooks with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. Includes fully searchable full-text online books purchased by OhioLINK and available via public-domain.
Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 249,400 e-books and covers a large selection of academic subjects including business & economics, education, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social sciences, philosophy, technology & engineering, and world history.
Collection features e-books from leading publishers and university presses such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press,
John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.
Gale eBooks
Collection of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research in several subject areas including biography, business, education, history, literature, medicine, and social sciences.
Collection Includes over 100 titles (some in multiple editions). Not included in OneSearch.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Electronic Book Center (EBC)
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Most eBooks are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
Routledge Handbooks
Provides comprehensive overviews and fresh approaches to traditional and current topics across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, Science, and Built Environment.
Routledge Handbooks Online is written by highly regarded authorities in their respective fields, reflecting an international and diverse range of perspectives. With over 3,000 Handbooks and Companions, and with new titles added each month, this is the definitive resource for the latest high-quality and trusted research.(GEER Funded)
Cambridge Core
With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Journal and eBook content is provided in Cambridge Core. Browse by subject and limit search to content available to Ashland University users.
Oxford Very Short Introductions
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.
Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory.

Select eBooks

Literary Criticisms

Culture, Identity, Commodity
"Established and emerging scholars offer timely discussions of'diasporic Chinese studies,'drawing on transnational, postcolonial, globalisation, and racialisation theories. The collection examines what is at stake in the consideration of diasporic literatures and the connections and fissures emerging in these new critical terrains."
Racial Ambiguity in Asian American Culture
" In Racial Ambiguity in Asian American Culture, Jennifer Ann Ho shines a light on the hybrid and indeterminate aspects of race, revealing ambiguity to be paramount to a more nuanced understanding both of race and of what it means to be Asian American."
The Americas of Asian American Literature
" Through a critical analysis of select literary texts--novels by Carlos Bulosan, Gish Jen, Jessica Hagedorn, and Karen Yamashita--Lee probes the specific ways in which some Asian American authors have steered around ethnic themes with alternative tales circulating around gender and sexual identity."
Consumption & Identity: Asian American Coming-Of-Age Novels
"This interdisciplinary study examines the theme of consumption in Asian American literature, connection representations of cooking and eating with ethnic identity formation."

Dictionary & Encyclopedia

The Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Fiction
"The Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Fiction: 1980–2020 offers discussions of central and cutting-edge topics being explored in contemporary American fiction. The essays provide focused and critical explorations of the authors and subjects driving the most interesting work published between 1980 and 2020."
The Oxford History of the Novel in English:
Volume 8: American Fiction since 1940
"The series is concerned with novels as a whole, not just the 'literary' novel, and each volume includes chapters on the processes of production, distribution, and reception, and on popular fiction and the fictional sub-genres, as well as outlining the work of major novelists, movements, and tendencies."
Global China in 21st-Century Asian American Literature
"Finally, the literatures of Global China include robust outgrowths of genre literature, ranging from speculative fiction to detective fiction. Writers of genre fiction include Ovidia Yu and Ted Chiang."

Archer Library

ENG 202 • Introduction to Literary Studies: eBook Collections

Introducing eBooks

Explore eBook Collections

Select eBooks

Literary Criticisms

Dictionary & Encyclopedia

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.