Skip to main content

TH 418/419 History of the Theatre: Images

Citing Images

Digital File: Image or Article (PDFs, JPEGs)

First, determine the type of digital format you're citing (e.g., .pdf, .jpg, etc.).  Unless you can use traditional citation form (see “Reproductions of Paintings, Sculpture, or Photographs” below), use Author’s Name. “Name of Work.” Date of Creation. Medium of Publication. If you can't tell what the medium is, use: Digital file.

Biancolo, Vicky. “LibGuides are The BOMB.” 2013. Microsoft Word file.

Singer, Merrill. “Beyond Global Warming: Interacting Ecocrises and the Critical Anthropology of Health.”Anthropological Quarterly 82. 3 (Summer, 2009): 795-819. JSTOR. PDF file.

A Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph

Include the artist's name. Give the title of the artwork in italics. Provide the date of composition. If the date of composition is unknown, place the abbreviation n.d. in place of the date. Finally, provide the name of the institution that houses the artwork followed by the location of the institution.

Whistler, James Abbot McNeill. Nocturne in Black and Gold. 1875. The Detroit Institute of Arts, Detroit, Mich.

Reproductions of Paintings, Sculpture, or Photographs

Cite the bibliographic information as above followed by the information for the source in which the reproduction appears, including page or reference numbers (if it is a plate, figure, etc.).

Whistler, James Abbot McNeill. Nocturne in Black and Gold. 1875. The Detroit Institute of Arts, Detroit, Mich.Janson’s History of Art. 8th ed. By Penelope J. E. Davies, et al. Upper Saddle River: Prentice Hall, 2009. 887. Print.

Kavallines, James. Andy Warhol (left) and Tennessee Williams (right) talking on the S.S. France. 1967. Prints & Photographs Online Catalog, Library of Congress.  Web. 6 May 2013. <http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/98515341/>

Art Images

OhioLINK Image Databases

NEW-NY Public Library Theatre Photos

NYPL Digital Collection--Theatre photos organized by photographer:

 "Access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books.. ."

Useful Images for Set Design

Yale Digital Commons

Yale University Art Gallery
 

 You can now enjoy free access to online images of millions of objects housed in Yale's museums, archives, and libraries, courtesy of Yale's new "Open Access" policy."  The Yale Digital Commons has an easy-to-use search interface.

Open Archives

Costume Images

From Print Collections

Image Databases

Image Search Engines