LibGuides: TH 418/419 History of the Theatre: Biography

About the Playwright

Fine-- I'll talk with you : interviews including Pulitzer, Tony, and Oscar winning playwrights and screenwriters
Includes interviews with Nilo Cruz, Edward Albee,
The play that changed my life : America's foremost playwrights on the plays that influenced them
Chapter by Nilo Cruz
On America's master playwrights : Eugene O'Neill, Thornton Wilder, Clifford Odets, William Saroyan, Tennessee Williams, William Inge, Arthur Miller, Zedward Albee

About the Playwright eBooks

The Playwright's Voice : American Dramatists on Memory, Writing, and the Politics of Culture
Albee

Reference Books-Theatre Biography

Reference books are a great place to start your search. Reference books provide an overview of a topic, typically just a few pages. If you take a few moments to skim a reference book, you'll get some great ideas on the key points on your topic that you can use for deeper research.

Reference books are shelved on the main floor of the library. The books must be used in the library, but because the entries are so brief, it is usually takes just a few minutes to jot down a few notes or make a list of relevant keywords.

Enter the Playmakers: Directors and Choreographers on the New York Stage
Call Number: PN1998.2.H596 2006
Late and Great: American Designers 1960-2010
Call Number: Ref PN2096.A1 L38 2010
Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: PN2285 .N65 1989
Who's Who in the Theatre
Call Number: PN2012 .W5 1972
Enter the playmakers : directors and choreographers on the New York stage
Call Number: Ref PN1998.2 .H596 2006
The Gay and Lesbian Theatrical Legacy: A Biographical Dictionary of Major Figures in American Stage History in the Pre-Stonewall Era
Call Number: Ref PN2286.5.G38 2005

Databases with Biographical Information

Biography Reference Bank
Provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
Drama Criticism (Gale)
For each playwright featured, presents a full range of critical opinion, along with a BIOGRAPHICAL sketch and a chronological list of the writer's major works. Covers nearly 200 dramatists.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance With Full Text (EBSCO)
This database focuses on criticism, however to discover interviews with your chosen playright, you can use the keyword "interview" along with the playwright's name (shange AND interview).
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Provides information on 135,000 authors from all time periods and genres, including drama, fiction, poetry, history, journalism, and more.

more... less...

Contains full-text articles, essays, and reviews from journals and magazines; overviews of frequently studied works; and poems, stories, and plays. Much of the content was originally published in such Gale series as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, etc.

Archer Library

TH 418/419 History of the Theatre: Biography

About the Playwright

About the Playwright eBooks

Reference Books-Theatre Biography

Databases with Biographical Information

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2025-26. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.