Film History: An International Journal
Journal of Film and VideoOnce you have located a citation for an article in a database, there are several ways to get a copy of the article.
1. If you're lucky, there will be a link to the full-text article right below the citation in the list of the results of your search. The link may be to a PDF or HTML copy, or it may link you to the publisher's web site.
2. There is always an icon that reads 
below each citation. By clicking on , you can see if our library owns a copy of the journal in which the article is published, or it may provide you with a link to the article in another database. If so, that link will be highlighted in yellow. Just follow the link.
3. In the event that the article is not available in full text from the databases, and we do not have a copy of the journal, then you may order a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan. Just fill out the Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form and the article will be mailed to you free of charge. You may keep the article. This service may take from 3-10 days, so make sure to start your research early.
We subscribe to databases on almost every topic. These are the most useful for finding articles on Cinema.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Comprehensive collection of full text from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies. Subjects Include Cinematography, Film and television theory, Preservation and restoration, Production Reviews, Screenwriting, and Technical aspects.
Citations and abstracts for articles, essays, and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations. Humanities International Complete includes 786 journals with searchable cited references, and 1,650 active indexed and abstracted journals of which 1,393 are peer-reviewed.
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database containing thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Race Relations Abstracts includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to the field. An essential resource for ethnic and racial studies, subjects include discrimination, ethnic relations, cultural identity, and ethnic studies.
Self-described as the definitive index of publications covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals, some from as far back as 1910.
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations, and more. Subjects include Gender inequality, Masculinity, Post-feminism, and Gender identity.
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.