LibGuides: ENG 102-Dr. Grady: Shawshank

E-books

Abject Spaces in American Cinema : Institutional Settings, Identity and Psychoanalysis in Film
Cruel and Unusual : Punishment and US Culture
The Essential Stephen King : A Ranking of the Greatest Novels, Short Stories, Movies, and Other Creations of the World's Most Popular Writer
The social history of crime and punishment in America : an encyclopedia
Reel Character Education : A Cinematic Approach to Character Development

Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
Database includes 459 active indexed and abstracted journals. 422 of them are peer-reviewed. Subjects covered include criminology, criminal justice, criminal investigations, criminal law and procedure, corrections ad prisons, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, police and policing, probation and parole, and substance abuse and addiction.
SocIndex with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. Its scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Includes over 2.1 million records, providing full text for 860+ journals (dating back to 1908), 830+ books/monographs, and 16,800+ conference papers. Encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology, including: abortion, criminology and criminal justice violence; demography; ethnic and racial studies; gender studies; marriage and family; substance abuse and other addictions; rural and urban sociology; social development social structure; social work; sociological research and theory; and many others. Dates covered: 1903-present.
LGBTQ+ Source
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Includes indexing of additional books and periodicals. Topics covered include LGBT Studies, issues affecting the lives of LGBTQ people. Disciplines covered by LGBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to the field. An essential resource for ethnic and racial studies, subjects include discrimination, ethnic relations, cultural identity, and ethnic studies.