Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- New York Times Theater
This sub-site of the New York Times provides reviews and news as well as Broadway, off-Broadway, and Off-Off Broadway show listings. Critics also weigh in on their favorite shows currently playing on stage.
- Official London Theatre Guide
The self-explicit titled site is provided by the Society of London Theatre. This guide supplies latest theater news, show information, ticket purchasing, statistics, and more.
PlayBill provides international theater news, blogs, discounted tickets, statistics on Broadway earnings, gossip, and more. PlayBill also has a keyword-searchable awards database. Types of awards that are covered include Obie, Pulitzer Prize, and Tony.
- Southeast Theater Conference, Inc.
This website contains information about and for the 10 Southeast states included in the conference. Details on the annual convention, list of publication resources, scholarships, auditions, and jobs are supplied. A good resource for theater professionals in West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, and Kentucky.
- Theater Communication Group (TCG)
TCG was established through a grant from the Ford Foundation. The website is the online presence of TCG which promotes interaction between various types of theater groups; TCG's site contains access to its various publications including free access to American Theatre Magazine. Grant information, tools and research, and details on various events are available. A solid resource for participants in theater profession.
- American Alliance for Theatre and Education
An association for theater artists and educators, American Alliance for Theatre and Education (AATE) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas relating to theater and education. It serves a variety of professions including play-writes, theater directors, theater scholars, and arts integration specialists.
- The American Society for Theatre Research
The American Society of Theatre Research (ASTR) is a professional organization. It works with the Theatre Library Association and the Association for Theatre in Higher Education. The mission is to "encourage theatre scholarship." ASTR also publishes Theatre Survey.
- The Association of Theatre Movement Education
This association promotes theater movement training standards and the necessity of theater movement training for actors. The Association of Theatre Movement Education (ATME) examines movement, physical action, stunts, physical comedy and more within the realm of theater studies. It has biannual newsletter available for free and recently launched a digital journal.
- The Association for Theatre in Higher Education
Helping link members with others in a similar profession or organization in order to develop new information and research on theater, this association serves colleges, universities, students, administration, faculty, and other theater professionals. The Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) holds an annual conference for members. It also created the ATHE Interactive Theatre Script Database, available for use after creating a user account. Publishes Theatre Journal and Theatre Topics
- National Association of Drama Therapy
The National Association of Drama Therapy (NADT) uses theater and drama as a therapeutic tool for those who have suffered from abuse, mental disorders, or have committed felonies. The association enforces standards and maintains educational requirements for drama therapists. It also hosts an annual conference for members and publishes Dramascope, a journal focusing on committee reports, events, book reviews, networking, and more.
- University / Resident Theatre Association
The goal of University / Resident Theatre Association (URTA) is to connect educational programs with professional theater and performing arts professionals. URTA is designed to assist with audition information, job searching, and gaining graduate level training for both students and theater professionals. It is geared toward those trying to break into the business.
From the Library of Congress's collection, the material includes play scripts, theater playbills, sound recordings, and more. The primary historical documents relate to American Variety Stage, especially vaudeville.
Focus of this Library of Congress collection is Orson Welle's productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus. It also includes material such as play scripts and documents from the Federal Theater Project Administration Records. Subject material are primary historical documents.
The official database for Broadway Theater information contains details on shows, characters, songs, and more. Information covers early New York theater to present.
Maintained by Jack Wolcott, retired Associate Director and Graduate Program Coordinator for the University of Washington School of Drama, Web links are arranged by time period such as "17th Century," and "Contemporary." Not updated.
The Voice of the Shuttle is a reliable humanities and social science reference source. Not updated.
- McCoy's Guide to Theatre and Performance Studies
- Performing Arts Encyclopedia / Library of Congress American Memory Project
- Theatre History on the Web
- Theater, Visual Arts, Performing Arts at World Wide Arts Resources
Theater Arts provides information on all performance genres from Shakespeare to street arts
- WWW Virtual Theatre Library
- Voice of the Shuttle: Drama, Theater, & Performance Art Studies
- Yale Theater Studies Research Guide