Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Nursing Research Basics: Examples of Journals

This guide is designed to assist AU nursing students in finding information to support the assignments in introductory nursing courses.

JOGNN

The  Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic, & Neonatal Nursing (JOGNN) makes many of their articles freely available on their web site.  The most recent editions are not available, but you can access PDF articles from January 1997 until April 2009, plus the Jan./Feb. 2010 edition.  

You can either browse through the editions or perform a search using the search box in the upper right corner.  An icon of an open lock indicates that an article is available in full-text.

JOGNN is also indexed in several of our databases and links to full text of the articles are provided.  The publisher imposes a 12 month embargo on articles so you may only retrieve articlesthat were published through Dec. 2009.  You may perform a serach for JOGNN articles inthe databases CINAHL, Health Source Nursing Academic and MEDline Full Text.  

Interlibrary Loan Articles

We offer interlibrary loan for articles that are not available through our databases or from our print collection of journals.  Interlibrary loan articles will be mailed to your home. Please allow at least 2 weeks for delivery. This is a free service.  You may keep the article.

E-Journal Directories

These directories provide links to many electronic nursing journals.  Some offer free content, while others require a subscription or charge per article.

ERes-Electronic Reserves

Your instructors may place selected articles and other materials in Electronic Reserves (ERes).  You will need an instructor-provided password to access the articles.

Select E-Journals

You will be prompted to log in when you click on these links. 

E-Journals --Evidence Based Practice

Journals available in paper format in the AU Library

After clicking on a journal title, make sure to click on the tab for Full Record in the journal's library record.  It will show  which volumes we have.  We don't have recent print editions of many journals, although the articles may be found in our databases.

Finding a Specific Journal

We have access to thousands of journals, some in the print format and most others available electronically through our databases and subscriptions.  To discover if we have access to a particular journal, you may need to check several sources. 

  • You may first want to check the AU Library Catalog, performing a title search.  The results will show if we own the print editions and may possibly link you a database that includes the journal.  Not all electronic journals are included in the catalog.

 

  • You may also do a search in Journals A to Z on the library home page.  Journals A to Z is a tool that will show you if we have access to a journal in one or more databases.  Simply type in the title and it will display links to the relevant databases if available.  However, not all of our journals, print or electronic,  are included in Journals A to Z 

 

  • If you do not find the required journal title in the AU Library Catalog or Journals A to Z , you may want to try the database called Electronic Journal Center (EJC).  All journals included in the EJC are available in full text.  EJC includes many nursing, medical and psychology journals. 

If you are still unable to locate access to a journal, please ask a reference librarian.  We'll do our best to help you track it down. 

For specific journal articles not available through our resources, you may submit an interlibrary loan request and the article will be mailed to your home, free of charge.