Skip to main content

* Nursing Research Basics: E-books

This guide is designed to assist AU nursing students in finding information to support the assignments in introductory nursing courses.

Finding AU Ebooks

E-books are online books that can be read within your web browser. Some but not all can be downloaded to your device.

You can find many e-books with Ones SEarch and others within the AU Library catalog..  You can also  search in individual e-book collections.  Ashland University has these e-book collections:

(all topics, use OnesSearch)

(includes health encyclopedias)

(includes Public Health & Epidemiology)

(includes medicine & public health)

 

(focus on history, humanities)

(technology, digital media, and business) 

Off-Campus Access to Databases and E-books

When you click on a database link on campus, you will go directly to the database.  When you click from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in. 

 

Searching for E-Books

Use the AU Library OneSearch on the Library home page to find eBooks.  (Most of our AU eBook subscriptions are not in the AU or OhioLINK catalogs.)

Follow the 4 steps below  to retrieve eBooks. 


STEP 1

Simply click on the Search button without entering a search.

 


STEP 2

On the next page, scroll to the bottom corner to the heading for Location and check off the box for AU Library Catalog, ELECTRONIC COLLECTION. Then type your search terms in the search boxes at the top of the page and click SEARCH.

 


STEP 3

 On the next page of results, use the left sidebar to Refine Search.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go to Source Type.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you don't see eBooks listed as a Source Type, click on Show More.


STEP 4

Check off eBooks and then click Update.

 


 The list of results will include AU Library eBooks, OhioLINK eBooks, and a few other electronic publications such as government documents. Look for a link that reads eBook Full Text or Connect to resource.   (You will need to log in if you have not already done so.)

  

 

Medical Reference E-books

National Library of Medicine E Books

Bookshelf from National Library of Medicine

The Bookshelf is a searchable collection of online biomedical textbooks and other literature. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).