LibGuides: BIO 110 Ecology and Human Environment: Databases

Database Recommendations

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Includes more than 4.8 million citations: journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture
Database encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences. (EBSCOhost).
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, and wildlife management.Dates covered: 1983-present.
Garden, Landscape, & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts more than 500 publications of national, international, and regional interest, including titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups
Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design, ecology, plant and garden conservation, and horticultural therapy. Focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. Dates covered: 1964-present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments.
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for 920+ journals and 190+ monographs and features more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles, some going back as far as 1888.
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, legal matters, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Dates covered: 1970s-present (plus some older content) Included in OneSearch
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Includes the following suite of databases for coverage across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (1990-present); and Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities (1990- present). Dates covered: 1965-present. This database is not included in OneSearch
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 6,650 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines
Updated weekly. A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Dates covered: 1965-present. This database is not included in OneSearch

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses
Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Science Gov This link opens in a new window
Gateway to authentic gov't. science information and research results
Provides a search of over 45 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information. Includes access to over 2,100 scientific websites. An inter-agency initiative of 18 U.S. gov't. science organizations within 14 federal agencies. This resource is not included in OneSearch

CQ Researcher

About CQR

This database offers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on current events. Reports typically cover issues in government, health, social trends, crime, global affairs, economy, and more.

"Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources" (SAGE, About CQR, 2022).

CQR • Topics of Interest

Journals of Interest

Interested in browsing a journal? These titles, available through Archer Library and OhioLINK, may be of interest.

Archer Library

BIO 110 Ecology and Human Environment: Databases