LibGuides: BIO 110 Ecology and Human Environment: Databases

Database Recommendations

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Includes more than 4.8 million citations: journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Database encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences. (EBSCOhost).
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. Covers agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, and wildlife management.
Index is a valuable tool for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science. Dates covered: 1983-present.
Garden, Landscape, & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
This Index is a unique bibliographic database for gardening enthusiasts, professionals and horticulture students. It provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals covering gardening topics and offers a special focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
It offers indexing and abstracts for many titles devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups and includes many titles not available in any other index. Subjects Include Botany, Ecology, Garden and landscape design and history, Garden management, Horticulture therapy, Horticulture, and Plant and garden conservation.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This resource covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, Green building, Pollution, Sustainable agriculture, Renewable energy, and Recycling.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects. includes full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline.
Environment Complete includes 1,496 active indexed and abstracted journals. 1,361 of them are peer-reviewed. Subjects Include Ecosystem ecology, Energy
Environmental law, Environmental policy, Environmental technology, Geography, Marine and freshwater science, Natural resources, Pollution and waste, management, Renewable energy sources, Social impact of the environment, and Urban planning
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A component of the Web of Knowledge database platform. Includes the following suite of databases for coverage across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (1990-present); and Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science & Humanities (1990- present). Dates covered: 1965-present.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection is the world's leading citation database. It contains records of articles from the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals— conference proceedings and books. Coverage of some titles date back to 1900.
The Web of Science Core Collection has ten indexes containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, and conferences.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.
Science Gov This link opens in a new window
Science.gov provides access to millions of authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies. It is an official website of the U.S. Govt providing access to federally funded scientific research results, without needing to know which agency funded the research.
Research results include scientific and technical reports, peer-reviewed scholarly publications, digital data, software, conference presentations and proceedings, and other scientific and technical information that federal agencies publish resulting from their research investments.

CQ Researcher

About CQR

This database offers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on current events. Reports typically cover issues in government, health, social trends, crime, global affairs, economy, and more.

"Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources" (SAGE, About CQR, 2022).

CQR • Topics of Interest

Journals of Interest

Interested in browsing a journal? These titles, available through Archer Library and OhioLINK, may be of interest.

Archer Library

BIO 110 Ecology and Human Environment: Databases