Research databases are an organized collection of resources, such as scholarly journals, periodicals, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers, eBooks, and/or media, available to users online. They are powerful tools providing students the ability to craft, modify, and limit search results to find credible information.
Archer Library, as a member of OhioLINK, provides access to databases from a variety of vendors including EBSCO, Gale, and Ithaka, aka JSTOR. These proprietary resources are restricted to select users. As such, off campus use requires login with AU credentials.
Image: OneSearch & Library Resources Box, Archer Library
OneSearch is a comprehensive search tool providing access to the library catalog and databases using a single search box. It is 'one-stop-shopping,' so to speak, allowing users to identify a wide variety of resources - books, e-books, and articles.
➤ OneSearch can save time and lead you to resources that may otherwise be overlooked. It is useful for locating information to start the research process, whether from a book or journal article.
➤ OneSearch can be overwhelming due to the sheer volume of items returned with a single search. Take time to focus search results using filters provided.
Provides contextual and authoritative articles, research reports, videos, statistics, and opinion on hundreds of current social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an Overview (objective background/description), Point (argument) and Counterpoint (opposing argument).
Resources featured during library instruction.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Select databases to explore for assignment research.
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes a selection of active full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
An essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.