Use the databases listed below to conduct theological research. If you are unsure where to start, the AtlaSerials PLUS database is a good first-bet for many full-text articles. If you find that you need to broaden your search beyond the databases listed, the "General Databases" in the box at the bottom of the page will help you increase your search results.
Online full-text collection of over 220 major religion and theology journals.Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Topics covered include (but are not limited to): the Bible; archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; theology and ethics. Dates covered: 1908-present. Not included in OneSearch.
Index for religious and theological literature, covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Contains more than 1.8 million records covering the research literature of religion in over 60 languages.
Includes 570,000+ article citations from 1,679 journals; 237,000+ essay citations from 16,800+ multi-author works; 525,000+ book review citations; and a growing number of multimedia citations. Produced by the American Theological Library Association. Dates covered: 1908-present (plus some older content).
Research in Ministry (RIM) is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.
Jewish Studies Source is a rich full-text database offering a multidisciplinary view of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present.
It provides hundreds of publications devoted to Jewish studies, including scholarly journals, magazines, books, monographs, biographies and more. Subjects include Judaism, Jewish heritage, Jewish history, Mysticism, Kabbalah, and Jewish philosophy.
Database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
Covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, and philology, making it essential for those conducting research in the fields of religion and theology. A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association.
Database is a research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Offers a growing collection of abstracts for religion and biblical theology research. Each year, 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion; approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage dates back to 1977.
The Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) is a library of over 24,984 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 150 different institutions.
General Academic Database List
The following are a couple more general academic databases offered through Ashland University that you may find helpful. If you would like to view the full list of databases offered to our students via Ashland University, click here.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals
This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage Dates: 1984 –
Collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Explore millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more. All journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.