LibGuides: Religion Databases: ATS Library Religion Database Listings

Welcome

ATS Library Religion Database Listings

Use the databases listed below to conduct theological research. If you are unsure where to start, the AtlaSerials PLUS database is a good first-bet for many full-text articles. If you find that you need to broaden your search beyond the databases listed, the "General Databases" in the box at the bottom of the page will help you increase your search results.

Religion Database List

AtlaSerialsPlus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 721 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 40 different countries.
Coverage includes sacred texts, world religions (including Buddhism, Catholicism, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism), interfaith dialogue, contextual and systematic theology, religious studies, denominational history, missions and ecumenism, pastoral ministry, archaeology and antiquities, human culture and society, philosophy, and ethics. Not included in OneSearch.
Atla Religion Databases This link opens in a new window
Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, this database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies. It provides bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
Includes 570,000+ article citations from 1,679 journals; 237,000+ essay citations from 16,800+ multi-author works; 525,000+ book review citations; and a growing number of multimedia citations. Produced by the American Theological Library Association. Dates covered: 1908-present (plus some older content).
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
CPI indexes more than 190 publications including over 100 academic journals and 80 peer-reviewed titles. A majority of the journals covered are unique titles to the database. Prominent subjects in these journals include religion, theology, biblical studies and pastoral theology.
Christian Periodical Index also provides indexing for journals which put forth a Christian worldview from other disciplines, including science, business, psychology, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history, sociology and education.
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Jewish Studies Source is a rich full-text database offering a multidisciplinary view of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. A valuable resource for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of Jewish history and heritage.
It provides hundreds of publications devoted to Jewish studies, including scholarly journals, magazines, books, monographs, biographies and more. Subjects include Judaism, Jewish heritage, Jewish history, Mysticism, Kabbalah, and Jewish philosophy.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.
Covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, and philology, making it essential for those conducting research in the fields of religion and theology. A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A product of a partnership between Atla and Boston College, this database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for religion and theology scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Offers a growing collection of abstracts for religion and biblical theology research. Each year, 2,000 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion; approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage dates back to 1977.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text database for theology and philosophy research. Includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering topics including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Religion & Philosophy Collection provides coverage of key theological and philosophical resources spanning over 100 years.

Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN)
The Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) is a library of over 24,984 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 150 different institutions.

General Databases

General Academic Database List

The following are a couple more general academic databases offered through Ashland University that you may find helpful. If you would like to view the full list of databases offered to our students via Ashland University, click here.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database supporting high-level research for academic study. It provides access to more than 5,800 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 6,734 active global OA journals. It also offers more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.
Content is funded through a combination of OhioLINK central funds and member library contributions. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Many of the library research databases contain citations linking to full-text articles in the EJC. Dates covered: 1800s-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, book chapters, research reports, and primary sources.
Journals include the full archival run up to the moving wall established for each journal; most recent issues are not included.

OneSEARCH
Click this link to be taken to the AU library's main web page, where you can use OneSEARCH to search ALL of the AU/ATS databases at one time for your search terms.

Archer Library

Religion Databases

Welcome

ATS Library Religion Database Listings

Religion Database List

General Databases

General Academic Database List

The following are a couple more general academic databases offered through Ashland University that you may find helpful. If you would like to view the full list of databases offered to our students via Ashland University, click here.

Archer Library • Ashland University © Copyright 2023. An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution.