Basal readers, language arts K - 12 curriculum textbooks, are located directly outside of the Instructional Resource Center on the second floor of Archer Library. The curriculum textbook collection includes additional subject areas such as math, history, and science. There are currently five sections of Language Arts textbooks from a variety of publishers such as McGraw Hill, Houghton Mifflin, and Pearson. Recent acquisitions, textbooks published 2010 forward, include teacher editions only.
Labels are positioned in different places depending on the textbook binding. Pre-school and elementary textbooks are most often spiral bound; call numbers are affixed to the bottom left corner of the cover. Middle grade and high school student and teacher editions have more traditional spine labels.
Titles featured on this infographic are from the McGraw-Hill Wonders: CCSS Reading Language Arts program (2017). The grade two collection includes teacher's editions, volume 1 through 6. Curriculum Textbooks have a catalog location of Instructional Resource Center.
The IRC's book kit collection features juvenile titles selected for use with guided reading. Each kit includes six or more copies of a single title, they are presented in a red expanding folders complete with book covers for easy browsing and information pertaining to recommended reading levels.
Leveled book kits may include the following information: Lexile grade and stage (emergent, early, early fluent and fluent), F & P (Fountas and Pinnell) and Directed Reading Assessment (DRA). Book kits shelved numerically (by accession) within the collection, the most recent addition has the highest number.
Interested in learning more? The IRC web site features a Leveled Book Kits library guide with information about collection contents.
The Wall, by Eve Bunting, is the featured title on this infographic. Suggested reading level information provided on the front of the folder is: Grade 2, Early Fluent, F & P level K, and a DRA of 20. Book kits have a catalog location of Instructional Resource Center.
Juvenile titles classified as big books are big format (e.g., dimensions of 15"x19" and 21" x 17") as opposed to number of pages. Often part of language arts and reading programs, they are also purchased individually for classroom instruction and story time use. We currently have 187 big books in the juvenile collection with both fiction and non-fiction titles.
Juvenile Big Books are located directly outside the IRC, adjacent to the book kits. This collection is cataloged and shelved numerically with a call number beginning "bigbk" followed by a number; the newest title has the highest number. Big books are housed in large hanging bags, both bag and book should be taken to the circulation desk.
The big book featured in this infographic is Hats, by Maria Fleming (BigBk 136). Juvenile big books have a location of MAIN Juvenile Big Books.
The IRC's materials kits collection includes a variety of manipulatives that may be used in the classroom, to build and support lessons, and for tutoring. There are also a few general games just for fun! Subject areas of reading, language arts, math, science, social studies, and music are covered. Within this collection you may find puppets, flash cards, flannel board stories, and flannel boards. Materials kits are located within the IRC proper.
Materials kits are are cataloged and shelved numerically with a call number beginning "kit" followed by a number; the most recently acquired item has the highest number. Kits are housed in many different sized containers and boxes, as well as hanging bags and original containers. This collection currently includes 550+ items available to circulate.
The materials kit featured in this infographic is Following directions: The fun way to learn!, a reading comprehension board game (Kit 291). Materials Kits have a location of Instructional Resource Center.
The IRC has an extensive collection of activity books (850+) covering a variety of curriculum areas including phonics, language arts, reading, file folder games, The Mailbox, bulletin boards, and centers. Activity books are located on the second floor, adjacent to the K-12 curriculum textbooks.
The activity book collection is shelved alphabetically by topic; books are organized in labeled magazine files. For ease of use, feel free to take these containers off of the shelves and browse through them at your leisure on the tables in the curriculum textbook area.
Activity book call numbers begin with ACTIV followed by the category, year, and grade level where appropriate. Magazine files are alphabetical, but there is no specific order within individual categories. Feel free to stop in the IRC for help locating a specific title.
The activity book featured in this infographic is Nonfiction Comprehension Builders, ACTIV Read 2009 Gr.2-5. Activity Books have a location of Instructional Resource Center.
Instructional Resource Center collection items circulate for a period of three weeks with options for up to six renewals.
Yes! It is possible to renew books online.
Generally speaking, IRC call numbers will reflect the collection they represent. For example, big book call numbers start with BigBk. This 'home grown' call number is a finding aid, making is simpler to locate the resource.
Every item has a call number, you will find it in the library catalog (see featured items). Placement depends on collection item type.
IRC collection items include a label with the call number to help locate it on the shelf. Due to the size and shape of collection items, such as book kit folders and big book bags, call number labels are most often located on the bottom left corner of the item.
The most challenging part of finding IRC collection items is knowing they are part of the IRC collection. Take time to review locations identified in the catalog; IRC collections are identified as Instructional Resource Center.