Skip to main content

IRC Leveled Book Kits

This guide presents the IRC book kit collection by the number, and organized by Fountas & Pinell level.
Additional leveling information including DRA, Stage, and Grade, is available for select book kits.

IRC Collection: Book Kits

welcomeIRC Leveled Book Kits

Welcome to the IRC Leveled Book Kits guide, featuring the IRC book kits collection. Included is information about how it is organized and shelved, and resources for guided reading. Use the tabs in the sidebar to navigate; explore our collection of kits classified by F & P levels, or browse the full collection by number. Ask in the IRC for help locating and using this collection, or use our chat widget.

IRC Collections

 

Leveled Book Kits

 

What are Book Kits? The Instructional Resource Center (IRC) book kit collection features juvenile (children's) titles selected for use with guided reading. Each kit includes six or more copies of a single title, they are presented in a red expanding folders complete with book covers for easy browsing and information pertaining to recommended reading levels.  

How are Book Kits Leveled?  Several Book Kits were evaluated by COE education students who recommended appropriate level information. Recent additions to the collection were purchased with leveling information already identified.

Leveling Information Leveled kits may include the following information: Lexile grade and stage (emergent, early, early fluent and fluent), F & P (Fountas and Pinnell) and Directed Reading Assessment (DRA). 

Do Book Kits Circulate? Yes. Book kits are part of the IRC circulating collection.

How are Book Kits organized? Book kit call numbers use "other call number" classification. They are shelved numerically within the collection, each call number includes the label Book Kit followed by a number:  Book Kit 049. A complete numerical listing of all book kits in the library catalog may be found here.

DS profileDiane L. Schrecker, MLIS
Curriculum Librarian
Head of the IRC
Email: dschreck@ashland.edu


Instructional Resource Center
Ashland University Library
509 College Avenue
Ashland, OH 44805
Email: irc-aulib@ashland.edu
IRC: 419.289.5406

 

Stay connected with the IRC!

 Pinterest  twitter  blog  IRC Web 

Loading ...