Authority is Constructed and Contextual

"Information resources reflect their creators’ expertise and credibility, and are evaluated based on the information need and the context in which the information will be used. Authority is constructed in that various communities may recognize different types of authority. It is contextual in that the information need may help to determine the level of authority required" (ACRL, 2015). 

Knowledge Practices: Learners who are developing their information literate abilities:

• Recognize that authoritative content may be packaged formally or informally and may include sources of all media types; Understand the increasingly social nature of the information ecosystem where authorities actively connect with one another and sources develop over time.

Dispositions: Learners who are developing their information literate abilities:

• Develop awareness of the importance of assessing content with a skeptical stance and with a self-awareness of their own biases and worldview;
• Question traditional notions of granting authority and recognize the value of diverse ideas and worldviews.

Searching as Strategic Exploration

"Searching for information is often nonlinear and iterative, requiring the evaluation of a range of information sources and the mental flexibility to pursue alternate avenues as new understanding develops" (ACRL, 2015).

Knowledge Practices: Learners who are developing their information literate abilities:

• Match information needs and search strategies to appropriate search tools;
• Manage searching processes and results effectively.

Dispositions: Learners who are developing their information literate abilities:

• Understand that first attempts at searching do not always produce adequate results;
• Realize that information sources vary greatly in content and format and have varying relevance and value, depending on the needs and nature of the search

Ashland University. (2021). A-Z databases. Archer Library. https://libguides.ashland.edu/az.php

Ashland University. (2021a). Archer Library. https://www.ashland.edu/library

Ashland University. (2021b). Archer library guides: Guides by subject. Archer Library. https://libguides.ashland.edu

EBSCO Information Services. (2021). Academic search complete. EBSCO. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/academic-search-complete

EBSCO Information Services. (2021a). Social work abstracts. EBSCO. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/social-work-abstracts

EBSCO Information Services. (2021b). SocINDEX with full text. EBSCO. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/socindex-full-text

EBSCO Information Services. (2021c). Sociological collection. EBSCO. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/sociological-collection